Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Can I have your Tots AOD Member AOD_Kwixx's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Age
    47
    Posts
    23

    Default Running a 2nd monitor on the same Video card..

    Ill assume running 2 monitors out of 1 Video card will slow down game play.

    the 2nd display would be for Displaying Team speak while playing games. It would make it easier to see whos talking. Googling and Looking info up (depending on the game)

    It would just be an extension to the Right of my Main Monitor.


    OR .. Would I be better off running my Older video card (NON SLI mode) just a 2nd card to that monitor? I have 950W PS In my machine, and I'm 99.99% it would handle the load with no issues..

    Current Video card is GTX960, older card is a GTX550 Ti.



    below is a link to my Benchmark and computer if anyone is able to help.

    http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/1805216

  2. #2
    I didn't take Steroids...Honest AOD Member AOD_ZedZedski's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    786

    Default

    For an extended screen there should be no difference since you are just extending the screen and using part of the screen for the game and second part for desktop mode. It would be equivalent to playing the game and doing Alt+Tab.

  3. #3
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue AOD Member AOD_inactive's Avatar
    Rank
    Cadet
    Division
    Tom Clancy
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Age
    23
    Posts
    43

    Default

    I run 1 screen one 1 card and my other 2 off another but they are SLI so it kind of evens everything out I suppose.
    I don't think you would never notice a difference. I ran 2 screens on 1 card for years until I got a third screen and another graphics card.

  4. #4
    Can I have your Tots AOD Member AOD_TheButler208's Avatar
    Rank
    Cadet
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10

    Default

    dunno if you have an AMD card or an SLi card but, you can tell the driver software to accelerate just one particular display and then it won't effect/affect? anything. Running a second monitor will kill a couple frames, if you run youtube on that monitor then yes it can be noticeable without changing that setting.

  5. #5
    #snitchesgettheknife
    AOD_jinxbart's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Tom Clancy
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Fort Campbell
    Age
    22
    Posts
    991

    Default

    I run two screens off one card with no issues . And their two 1080p with a msi gtx 970 . So nothing fancy works very well I have never noticed a foe diffrence between one or two monitors . The only thing would be running games in windowed or windowed borderless you will lose some fps but nothing major

  6. #6
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! AOD Member AOD_Jayson201's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Age
    20
    Posts
    74

    Default

    I do that all the time and theres no difference :) Using a gtx 960 but i used to double monitor on a r7 250x and an r9 280

  7. #7
    Can I have your Tots AOD Member AOD_Kwixx's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Age
    47
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_TheButler208 View Post
    dunno if you have an AMD card or an SLi card but, you can tell the driver software to accelerate just one particular display and then it won't effect/affect? anything. Running a second monitor will kill a couple frames, if you run youtube on that monitor then yes it can be noticeable without changing that setting.
    Ill look into this...didnt know you can do that.
    I did set it up, i dropped from 130+FPS to 90FPS playing BF4. If i can adjust the 2nd monitors display that would help out. thank you for the info..and thank everyone for there input too.

  8. #8
    I'm not weird, I'm just LIMITED EDITION !! AOD Member AOD_Entity94's Avatar
    Rank
    Cadet
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Age
    22
    Posts
    73

    Default

    I run 2 monitors occasionally. I plug one of them - the main one - into a GtX970 from EVGA and than I plug the other one just into the motherboard lol. It only needs to display teamspeak or something, I dont use both for games. Never have any issues.;

  9. #9
    Knee High to a Worms Ass AOD Member AOD_ninjaeon's Avatar
    Rank
    Recruit
    Division
    War Thunder
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I run three monitors from my R9 270X. I ran benchmarks and found the difference in FPS to be negligible when I had the two additional monitors disconnected.

  10. #10
    Ever notice how fast Windows runs? Neither did I AOD Member AOD_EpicBlob's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Carbondale
    Age
    23
    Posts
    291

    Default

    Running two monitors off a GTX 970, not issues with one for gaming and one for other apps. Some games do give me stutters if I run it in borderless fullscreen, but I think thats just an issue with the setting.
    Computer Specs: Themaltake V31 Case, Intel 4790k i7, MSI GTX 970 4gb GPU, Asus Z97-A MB, 16gb G-Skill 2400mhz RAM, 500gb 850 EVO SSD+1tb HDD, AOC G-SYNC 144hz Monitor
    Accesories: G502 Proteous Mouse, Blackwidow Stealth Keyboard, Razer Orbweaver, Sennheiser HD 558s, Wacom Intuos Pro tablet

  11. #11
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! AOD Member AOD_Floppycatt's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefront
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Age
    30
    Posts
    60

    Default

    It may drag it down a bit but shouldn't be much. I did some tests and found only 2-3 FPS variation on mine just now.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top