Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Why, you stuck-up, half-witted, scruffy-looking nerf herder! AOD Member AOD_MatchMaker's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefront II
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,835

    Default Need help migrating to an SSD

    I recently got a samsung evo 850 and tried to use their software to migrate over. When I booted off the SSD I got the message that windows cannot boot, with error code 0xc000000E. Does anyone know how to fix this? Any help would be much appreciated.

    My current OS is Windows 8.1
    Uh, we had a slight weapons malfunction, but uh... everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?


  2. #2
    Banned from Forums RTMPro's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    I've heard of issues with SSD migration. Sadly I have no solution other than a fresh install :'(

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    The Token Staff Sergeant
    AOD_Master Butters's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Jedi Knight
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,217

    Default

    It can be a pain in the ass, but I'd honestly recommend just doing a fresh install.
    http://www.clanaod.net/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=10768&dateline=135607  8793
    Don't fold if you're made to bend.

  4. #4
    "Oh great, here comes Captain Dipshit in a LAV" - Pyle986 AOD Member AOD_Grady666's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    US
    Age
    22
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Your trying to migrate the data from your previous drive to the SSD; I never recommend using Vendor-specific data migration tools; Are you just trying to transfer Files(IE: Not an OS + Files)? I've always done fresh-installs, but if your trying to Migrate your old drives OS+ All of its files, then Sometimes creating a "Disk Image" in Windows works; I would transfer any files(like I said: Games, Pictures, Documents,ETC) to an external HDD, or any other SSD/Hard-drive you have other than the new SSD, do a fresh-install of Windows 8.1, then Transfer all your files from the External Drive/Disk to the SSD within Windows;

    0x(...) Are usually "Stop Codes", from BSOD's or like you, bootup errors- If you google the Specific Stop Code, you will probably get alot different results, but theres usually information about the specifics and how to resolve the issue; Dont look at any of the Yahoo Answers links, or anything like that; Credible sources are usually your best bet-

  5. #5
    Call in a favor. Call in every favor you can. It might add up to a chance AOD Member AOD_Wingdude100's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    PlayerUnknown
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Illinois
    Age
    19
    Posts
    636

    Default

    Step 1: Insert your boot media
    Step 2: After selecting language and clicking next, click "repair your computer"
    I think that this should fix the problem, if it doesn't just tell us.

  6. #6
    Why, you stuck-up, half-witted, scruffy-looking nerf herder! AOD Member AOD_MatchMaker's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefront II
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,835

    Default

    Repair didn't fix the problem, I think there was a problem copying some of windows hidden files or something makeing it is it couldn't boot. I mulled it over for a while and just installed a fresh copy of windows.

    Is there a good way to transfer over programs, or do I have to reinstall everything again?
    Uh, we had a slight weapons malfunction, but uh... everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?


  7. #7
    "Oh great, here comes Captain Dipshit in a LAV" - Pyle986 AOD Member AOD_Grady666's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    US
    Age
    22
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_TheMatchMaker View Post
    Repair didn't fix the problem, I think there was a problem copying some of windows hidden files or something makeing it is it couldn't boot. I mulled it over for a while and just installed a fresh copy of windows.

    Is there a good way to transfer over programs, or do I have to reinstall everything again?
    Yep, Like I said above, you can use any other drives/external storage(Flash Drive, External HDD, ETC) for any large files/collection of files; You should also consider using Dropbox Or some similar cloud storage service to backup/save all the programs you frequently use + any frequently used or important documents,pictures, or music; Thats what I do personally, use a 8GB USB3 Flash drive for all my Benchmarking, OC'ing, System Diagnostic and Optimization Utilities, Recent(I Update them as soon as new Official drivers come out) System and Onboard+Discrete Video Card drivers, ETC (CCLeaner,Avast,CPU-Z & GPU-Z, AS-SSD And CrystalDiskMark/Info, Stuff like that) and all my games I use a program called "Game Save Manager" to backup my progress/game saves and just re-install any Steam/Origin games I currently use-

    Ill provide a link below:

    http://www.gamesave-manager.com/?s=download

    And for Dropbox, Just incase you "for some reason cant find it, or something weird like that", Its one of the the most popular cloud storage services, so Dropbox.com, thats how I start searching for any massively popular application or site: Name.com, lol

    https://www.dropbox.com/

    Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    Can I have your Tots Aloysius's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    45
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I have successfully migrated from a HDD to a SSD twice (the second time was after my first SSD failed) using Aomei Partition Assistant: http://www.aomeitech.com/aomei-partition-assistant.html

  9. #9
    "Oh great, here comes Captain Dipshit in a LAV" - Pyle986 AOD Member AOD_Grady666's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    US
    Age
    22
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Aloysius View Post
    I have successfully migrated from a HDD to a SSD twice (the second time was after my first SSD failed) using Aomei Partition Assistant: http://www.aomeitech.com/aomei-partition-assistant.html
    ^^^ Sounds like hes been successful previously, I'd definitely check out that program; I was just doing my best to troubleshoot w/ you; Answer your question about transferring files;

    * I dont use Data migration tools when I get new Drives(SSD's or HDD's), but I have used them at work a few times, so I don't know too much about them other than that Its pretty common for Vendor-specific Data migration utilities often have alot of issues; That's a 3rd party utility- So it probably DOES work.

  10. #10
    Why, you stuck-up, half-witted, scruffy-looking nerf herder! AOD Member AOD_MatchMaker's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefront II
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,835

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Aloysius View Post
    I have successfully migrated from a HDD to a SSD twice (the second time was after my first SSD failed) using Aomei Partition Assistant: http://www.aomeitech.com/aomei-partition-assistant.html
    I used the cloning software that they have and it worked very well, took about 45-50 minutes and booted up the first time! Windows boots so fast now!

    thanks everyone for the support!
    Uh, we had a slight weapons malfunction, but uh... everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?


  11. #11
    "Oh great, here comes Captain Dipshit in a LAV" - Pyle986 AOD Member AOD_Grady666's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    US
    Age
    22
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_TheMatchMaker View Post
    I used the cloning software that they have and it worked very well, took about 45-50 minutes and booted up the first time! Windows boots so fast now!

    thanks everyone for the support!
    Yep, thanks AOD_Aloysius for helping out providing a good 3rd-party utility that really works;

  12. #12
    "Oh great, here comes Captain Dipshit in a LAV" - Pyle986 AOD Member AOD_Grady666's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    US
    Age
    22
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Wingdude100 View Post
    Step 1: Insert your boot media
    Step 2: After selecting language and clicking next, click "repair your computer"
    I think that this should fix the problem, if it doesn't just tell us.
    Hey Wingdude, I've been trying to get a hold of a bf4stat's Signature w/ my Player Stat's on it like yours, but I've had trouble creating one(Not using the API; I know a good bit about foundational C++), I would upload background images for the sig and it would debug and give errors, as well as giving the icon for "image link is broken or invalid" on the signature preview- How did you get yours/how did you get yours up and working?


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top