Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! Scipio's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Age
    21
    Posts
    130

    Default Windows 10 Compatible Antiviruses?

    So I recently upgraded to 10 after the latest Avast update to 10 broke my Internet. It didn't actually fix itself once it was installed though, so I had to delete it. Are there any free antiviruses I should get, or should I stick to Defender until Avast hopefully gets patched? I'm pretty careful most of the time, and I still have Malwarebytes as a backup.

  2. #2
    "Oh great, here comes Captain Dipshit in a LAV" - Pyle986 AOD Member AOD_Grady666's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    US
    Age
    21
    Posts
    1,418

    Icon14

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Scipio View Post
    So I recently upgraded to 10 after the latest Avast update to 10 broke my Internet. It didn't actually fix itself once it was installed though, so I had to delete it. Are there any free antiviruses I should get, or should I stick to Defender until Avast hopefully gets patched? I'm pretty careful most of the time, and I still have Malwarebytes as a backup.



    Traditionally, Windows Defender from Windows XP, Windows Vista( *Cough*), Windows 7, Windows 8/Windows 8.1 have been all that most people, at least those with common sense and Know what things obviously NOT to click and so forth, it does just fine- BUT for Windows 10, I cant speak on the reliability or effectiveness of its Built-in AV, although if Avast isnt working with Windows 10, I would stick with Windows Defender(Win10 doesnt even have all the basic Hardware drivers for ALOT of devices, and on most of the ones they do, their highly un-optimized or buggy).

    * Updating Avast AV shouldn't "break" your internet, It shouldnt do anything that prevents you from accessing your LAN/WAN unless it see's a threat(while in use, and Active Protection being used); Even then it doesnt just "cut off" your Connection, it will give you a warning and quarantine it, then give you the option to remove it later.

    *Also: I use Avast AV as my "Go-to" anti-virus, On Windows 8.1 Though.

  3. #3
    Over 50 club member AOD Member AOD_W3BB's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    233

    Default

    OK, I am trying out Windows Defender on a spare computer with Windows 10. We have a paid subscription Norton 360 for TEN computers. I uninstalled the Norton and am letting my kids use in their playroom. The Windows 10 software is working beautiful, it is very nice. I don't like taking risks on the other 6 computers this one is my guinea pig. So far this computer is doing amazing!!!!!!! I can play PlanetSide 2 with 60fps when before on Windows 7 64bit I could barely get 30fps. Startups are half the time...the list goes on and on. VERY HAPPY.

  4. #4
    "Oh great, here comes Captain Dipshit in a LAV" - Pyle986 AOD Member AOD_Grady666's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    US
    Age
    21
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_W3BB View Post
    OK, I am trying out Windows Defender on a spare computer with Windows 10. We have a paid subscription Norton 360 for TEN computers. I uninstalled the Norton and am letting my kids use in their playroom. The Windows 10 software is working beautiful, it is very nice. I don't like taking risks on the other 6 computers this one is my guinea pig. So far this computer is doing amazing!!!!!!! I can play PlanetSide 2 with 60fps when before on Windows 7 64bit I could barely get 30fps. Startups are half the time...the list goes on and on. VERY HAPPY.
    An OS upgrade along will NOT give you that huge of a margin in frames per second, and start-up time halved, Only explanation I can think of for that(if its truly HALF), is that you did a clean install and reformatted. But it does offer 5-10FPS Gains in alot of games, and some other minor improvements, but the bugs and Driver incompatibility/Optimization override all of the positives IMO :(

    I wont be an early-adopter, but 3-5 Months down the line, after a service pack, or plenty of Bug patches And Driver Optimizations + DX12 Games I will definantly be upgrading

  5. #5
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Rixxan's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    378

    Default

    Avast works fine, but some core files might have been moved and changed during the upgrade. It happened to me too, and so all I did was reinstall and no problems at all.

  6. #6
    Over 50 club member AOD Member AOD_W3BB's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    233

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Grady666 View Post
    An OS upgrade along will NOT give you that huge of a margin in frames per second, and start-up time halved, Only explanation I can think of for that(if its truly HALF), is that you did a clean install and reformatted. But it does offer 5-10FPS Gains in alot of games, and some other minor improvements, but the bugs and Driver incompatibility/Optimization override all of the positives IMO :(

    I wont be an early-adopter, but 3-5 Months down the line, after a service pack, or plenty of Bug patches And Driver Optimizations + DX12 Games I will definantly be upgrading
    I agree. Yeah, I did much more than cleaning of antivirus. Software dates back to 8/19/2010 and its now a kids machine for a few years. I have many toys to play with SO... might as well break some.

  7. #7
    "All these damn medics need to get off my revives!" Atriarc's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Braunfels, TX
    Age
    28
    Posts
    120

    Default

    AVG Internet Security 2015 has been working flawlessly for me. 10/10 would recommend.

  8. #8
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! Scipio's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Age
    21
    Posts
    130

    Default

    The latest Avast update did something wrong on my system. After it updated, it wouldn't turn the shields on because every time I try it turns itself off. Then when I try opening a web page it cannot resolve the host. The internet worked fine up to the point when Avast starts up (~2 minutes after boot) and then it gave issues. A system restore to the point before the upgrade didn't work because it kept on autoupdating. I had to uninstall it, and then I installed Windows 10. That worked fine, and I tried reinstalling Avast, but it was worse, because it froze the computer up after it starts up. I had to restart in safe mode to uninstall it.

    I guess I'll just stick to Defender until Avast maybe gets a new update.

  9. #9
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue Massa191's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Age
    46
    Posts
    49

    Default

    I've done several machines running AVAST, no problems whatsoever.

  10. #10
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Mokona512's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    419

    Default

    On my test PC running a fresh windows 10 install, avast is working fine on it.

  11. #11
    mmmmm..Claymores AOD Member AOD_dc88's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Destiny 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    KC,KS
    Age
    29
    Posts
    386

    Default

    Defender has typically always done well for me. however, I did get a nasty little malware bug a couple weeks ago. I broke down and finally purchased a full license for Malware Bytes to keep active running on my system. I'm on 2 weeks with full version running alongside windows defender and have had zero issues with either interfering with each other or other software.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top