Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Can I have your Tots xXCHERUBIMXx's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Marcos, Texas
    Age
    24
    Posts
    11

    Icon5 HELP! Check my specs....

    Hey Guys and Gals,

    I was wondering if the brain trust (yeah, that's you) can pull together and look at this parts list for my build-out.

    I went a step down from what I wanted initially because it seemed excessive.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rig Components.png 
Views:	57 
Size:	73.6 KB 
ID:	19501

    Above is the list of components I was going to purchase.

    My goal is to run WoT at the highest settings. That's something I've never been able to do. (Quite the opposite actually).

    If I set it to full settings, can anyone predict what kind of FPS I will see?

    40 FPS is my goal.

    Thanks, I just wanna blow stuff up again, and in a way that I don't have to dispose of evidence.

    Regards,


    xCx

  2. #2
    Banned from Forums RTMPro's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    That's a very similar setup to mine. You should be able to run WoT no issues. Not sure about Ultra settings though as I don't play WoT. I can play BF4 on Ultra though.

    I have 16gb of Corsair Vengeance ram vs 8gb.

    Gigabyte R9 280x
    AMD FX6350
    Thermaltake Tough power 600w PSU (a bit under powered I think)
    Gigabyte 970 mobo
    Seagate 320gb main & 2tb secondary
    Haven't installed my Crucial 500gb SSD yet.

    Running Windows 7 Pro

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Can I have your Tots xXCHERUBIMXx's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Marcos, Texas
    Age
    24
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks man,

    As far as I know the SSD just helps with load in times etc. I have the HDD for holding pictures, files and all that. Never used an SSD before, looking forward to it. I think these are comparable setups, and it sounds promising. I've already made the decision to increase the RAM, good observation.

    Have you had any reliability issues?

    Again, thanks.

  4. #4
    Banned from Forums RTMPro's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    Initially I had a driver issue for the video card. Stability is dependent upon which game you play. If you find me on Steam, RTMPro. All the games on my list I can play at either Ultra or High or a mix thereof. Also you can see my YouTube channel for videos I've catpured during gameplay. www.youtube.com/rtmpro

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue LoneSpirit's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Age
    30
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Man, dont go for that XFX GPU....get anything but XFX, they have all kind of driver issues and their support is even worse than EA Support.

    While the FX 6 series are good CPU's, I'd go for an Intel one, they are simply better, especially for broken ass games like World of Tanks.
    Also as old school player I always go with a combo: AMD CPU/Nvidia GPU or Intel CPU/AMD GPU :D

  6. #6
    Banned from Forums RTMPro's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    I slightly agree with you. Except for if you're on a budget. AMD offers great bang for your buck with their pricing. If you've got money to burn, Intel is definitely a superior processor, for about 2x the price. I used to be a full NVidia supporter, I'll tell you what though, the past couple NVidia cards I've paid over $300 for, my 280x I paid less than $300 and it craps all over them! Again, if you've got money to burn, get a GTX980.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Sidious_SithLord's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    87

    Default

    This is why I went with the 970 vs the 280.

    The GTX 970 is faster than a R9 290 and takes only a bit over half the power and is also much cooler. Also, the GTX 970 has a ‘real world bandwidth’ of ~300 GB/sec, what would be ~25% more – it has this compression technique like the new R9 285, just much better. The Texel Rate isn’t really important, because even graphics cards years ago didn’t have problems with AF anymore – you can try it yourself: Let the game run with 16xAF and then let it run with 4xAF – almost no performance difference but much cleaner picture…

    I’ve had the Sapphire R9 280 Dual-X and now I’m upgrading to a GTX 970. It’s a big difference, not only a small. YOu can throw EVERY game on it with MAX details at 1080p and you’ll get stable 60fps… On some older games you can even downsample or run at 4K, like Mirror’s Edge. With my R9 280 I sometimes didn’t even get 60fps with High Settings @ 1080p and 4xMSAA.



    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Banned from Forums RTMPro's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    The GTX970 is a newer generation card when comparing to an R9 280x. It should be faster and better in every sense. As for my own personal budget, paying $600+ NZD for a 970 is ludicrous vs a 280x & a 6350 processor for less than $450 NZD.

    Ultimately it comes down to affordability. I would love to have an i7 & 970/980...just can't warrant spending $1,300 vs $450 to play the games I play.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    I have come to terms with the fact that I am cannon fodder. AOD Member AOD_Cyrihs's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Tecumseh, MI
    Age
    36
    Posts
    587

    Default

    You can go water cooling with the Corsair H55 for not much more. Plus it'll help with potential RAM clearance issues.
    Also you should consider a 240-250 Gb SSD. The 120 will fill up fast even with only your OS and games installed.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top