Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    The foxiest Nigel of them all! AOD Member AOD_Neogreenyew's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Age
    24
    Posts
    211

    Default Network Taking Long to Start on Boot

    Okay so here is a first world problem if I've ever seen one... My SSD allows my computer to boot too fast so my computer's NIC can't keep up and takes a while to connect to the network after boot. Anyone know how to fix this issue? Googling this problem just gives me results for how to speed up windows boot time which doesn't really help my problem. I've already turned off power management on my network adapter and it didnt fix the issue.
    <-------------------------------------------------
    <----------- YOU KILLED HER, WEDGE. --------------
    <-------------------------------------------------



  2. #2
    If you choke a smurf, what color does it turn? AOD Member AOD_BritishBob's Avatar
    Rank
    Corporal
    Division
    Warframe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1,046

    Default

    Is the card itself taking a long time or is it taking a while to get internet access. If it's the latter then put a static ip and dns server on there as it could just be waiting a while for the DHCP to come though.

  3. #3
    First take the plank out of your own eye.
    AOD_Kestah's Avatar
    Rank
    Master Sergeant
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Cyberspace, USA
    Posts
    5,392

    Default

    I'd say set your switchport to portfast, so it won't try to do that stp stuff, but I doubt your home network is that complicated.

    It is probably the DHCP stuff, like previous poster said, so try the static IP/DNS/Default GW.

    Art by Blinix


    Thoughts become Actions. Actions become Habits. Habits become Character.

  4. #4
    If you choke a smurf, what color does it turn? AOD Member AOD_BritishBob's Avatar
    Rank
    Corporal
    Division
    Warframe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1,046

    Default

    I should have mentioned how to set a static ip:
    http://www.colorado.edu/oit/tutorial...tion-windows-7

    That's a guide for win 7. If you right click network icon bottom right and go Open Network and Sharing > Change Adapter Settings
    It will also bring you to step 3 ish menus.

  5. #5
    The foxiest Nigel of them all! AOD Member AOD_Neogreenyew's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Age
    24
    Posts
    211

    Default

    It isn't complicated. Just the usual Modem -> Router (DHCP server)-> switch -> Hosts

    Also I thought I had a static IP on this comp but it seems that one of these crazy windows 10 updates undid that... I'll try that out again.
    <-------------------------------------------------
    <----------- YOU KILLED HER, WEDGE. --------------
    <-------------------------------------------------



  6. #6
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AOD Member AOD_DbyMA's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    PlayerUnknown
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Age
    50
    Posts
    186

    Default

    There's a couple of troubleshooting things you could try to eliminate the basics:

    Have you tried a different patch cable?
    Have you tried a different physical port on your switch?
    Have you checked the link status lights on the NIC and the switch during the boot process?
    (i.e. SSDs are fast, but network and associated hardware should always be faster when establishing an electrical link state! )


    There's a few questions to ask about how your environment is interlinked that might provoke a narrowing of the problem:

    What is your network power on/boot order?
    (e.g. Router -> Modem -> Switch and finally your hosts)

    Do you have any other network devices attached to your switch or router that may be "chattering" (or failing)?

    Is your NIC built onto the motherboard? or a separate plug-in device?

    Have you reviewed your BIOS/UEFI network related settings?
    As a lot of new boards allow for the configuration of the hardware and stack before the OS boots!

    Is it the "soft" state connection to the IP network that takes its time to establish?

    What is your OS and/or Internet Security (FW, AV, etc.) configured to do during the initial load-up?

    Does the problem only occur during a cold boot?


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top