Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Ruler of The Rodents AOD Member AOD_Mouselad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Harlingen, TX
    Age
    35
    Posts
    443

    Default Video Card Issues

    So I just ordered a 970 last week and I was playing shadow of Mordor. Then It just went to a black screen, and my computer would no longer boot. The POST beeps it was giving indicated the graphics card according to the manual. found on page 91 here

    http://static.highspeedbackbone.net/...d%20Manual.pdf

    I also tried it in my computer at work which has a 550 watt power supply and there was also no video output.

    Anyways I am setting that one back.

    Now I hooked up my old video card (AMD 7870) for the time being, and it is working fine, except on my second monitor. The display resolution on works on max 720x480. I can set a custom resolution in the AMD control for its normal resolution of 1440 x 900, but upon reboot it back to the low resolution, and the option to change it in the windows screen resolution screen is greyed out. Also in the screen resolution window it is shown as Display device: on DVI instead of the monitor name. in device manager it is showing up as non plug and play monitor.
    1. I tried uninstalling the non plug and play monitor and rebooting to see if it detected differently.
    2. i tried the actual drivers for that monitor which was only a vista driver (im running win 7 64)
    3. uninstalled/reinstalled AMD video drivers.


    anyone have any ideas?

    Both monitors are connected via DVI cable

  2. #2
    Okay, who put a stop payment on my reality check? AOD Member AOD_KaosC57's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Destiny 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    19
    Posts
    479

    Default

    Did you RMA the 970 to whatever company manufactured it? You will typically get a replacement back, though be wary if it's MSI, you might get a refurbished one.
    CPU: Intel Core i5-6600k Clocked at 4.5 Ghz GPU: Asus GTX 1070 Dual X OC
    RAM: 32 GB DDR4 Mobo: MSI Z170A SLI Plus
    Storage: 120 GB SSD, 1.7 TB total HDD space Headphones: Sennheiser HD558
    Microphone: CAD Audio u37

  3. #3
    Ruler of The Rodents AOD Member AOD_Mouselad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Harlingen, TX
    Age
    35
    Posts
    443

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_KaosC57 View Post
    Did you RMA the 970 to whatever company manufactured it? You will typically get a replacement back, though be wary if it's MSI, you might get a refurbished one.
    nah i just refunded it. I am going to order a EVGA instead of a ASUS

  4. #4
    Don't shoot, I'm reloading AOD Member AOD_lanius424's Avatar
    Rank
    Corporal
    Division
    Elite: Dangerous
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Age
    20
    Posts
    1,742

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Mouselad View Post
    nah i just refunded it. I am going to order a EVGA instead of a ASUS
    When it comes to reliable graphics cards EVGA is my personal favorite. It's actually kind of interesting, at least on the Nvidia side of things anyway. The reference coolers for something like the Titan Z are manufactured by EVGA. That in itself should tell you something. (EVGA underbid the competition lol)


    Sent from the Matrix using telepathic communication
    <signature goes here>

  5. #5
    It is bad luck to be superstitious. AOD Member AOD_Darkn3ss F4lls's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Elite: Dangerous
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Syracuse
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,732

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_lanius424 View Post
    When it comes to reliable graphics cards EVGA is my personal favorite. It's actually kind of interesting, at least on the Nvidia side of things anyway. The reference coolers for something like the Titan Z are manufactured by EVGA. That in itself should tell you something. (EVGA underbid the competition lol)


    Sent from the Matrix using telepathic communication
    never had a problem with a EVGA card, they last and last and last and last my cards from 2009 are still rocking if i would be using them that is haha

    Steam - Origin - UPlay - YOUTUBE -TWITCH
    *RANDOM SIGNATURE IMAGE TO COME*
    AOD4Life - Have Questions About AOD? Ask me! - Support the Clan!

  6. #6
    Don't shoot, I'm reloading AOD Member AOD_lanius424's Avatar
    Rank
    Corporal
    Division
    Elite: Dangerous
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Age
    20
    Posts
    1,742

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Darkn3ss F4lls View Post
    never had a problem with a EVGA card, they last and last and last and last my cards from 2009 are still rocking if i would be using them that is haha
    I also haven't had a problem with EVGA. I went from a 970 SC on my first build, which Coachswaggins actually bought from me and is still using. All the way up to a 980ti Hybrid and have had zero issues whatsoever..


    Sent from the Matrix using telepathic communication
    <signature goes here>

  7. #7
    The best preparation for tomorrow is doing your best today. AOD Member AOD_Loobo2012's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    On Leave
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    422

    Default

    Check out this form on Toms Hardware, it may have a solution for your problem.
    http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/answer...-bit-noob.html

  8. #8
    Ruler of The Rodents AOD Member AOD_Mouselad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Harlingen, TX
    Age
    35
    Posts
    443

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Loobo2012 View Post
    Check out this form on Toms Hardware, it may have a solution for your problem.
    http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/answer...-bit-noob.html
    no onboard video.

  9. #9
    Ruler of The Rodents AOD Member AOD_Mouselad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Harlingen, TX
    Age
    35
    Posts
    443

    Default

    basically this is happening..

    https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport...ck_at_640x480/

    I tried different dvi cable, tried different port on my video card, tried vga cable with dvi adapter. no go.

  10. #10
    Ruler of The Rodents AOD Member AOD_Mouselad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Harlingen, TX
    Age
    35
    Posts
    443

    Default

    I got the monitor to accept 1280 x 720 now in windows, but if i go to show all supported mode, 1440 x 900 is no longer even listed.

  11. #11
    Ruler of The Rodents AOD Member AOD_Mouselad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Harlingen, TX
    Age
    35
    Posts
    443

    Default hmm

    So I took my PC to work, and hooked it up with my 2 dell monitors here and it detected them correctly and displayed the correct resolution which leads me to believe it is something wrong with my monitor.
    maybe when my new video card fried it also fucked the monitor, or maybe the monitor had a surge go threw it and fucked my video card? It seems like it isn't communicating properly with windows. in summary
    1. reinstalled video drivers. actually after that i couldn't even force it to go to 1440 x 900. it wasnt even listed in all available modes, and AMD drivers would not let me force it to that resolution
    2. deleted and let windows reinstall monitor driver
    3. there was no windows 7 driver for the monitor, but i found a windows vista driver, and same results.
    4. in windows resolution screen it is listed as device connected by: DVI
    5. tried different dvi and power cables same results
    6. tried vga cable with dvi to vga adapter same results
    7. in device manager it was listed as Non plug n play monitor, but i remember it used to be plug n play so i forced it to try plug and play and same results...

  12. #12
    Banned from Forums RTMPro's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    Last time I tried changing brands of video card, nvidia to amd, i had never ending driver problems. I had to reinstall windows before it would work right. Are you 100% sure you removed all amd driver before installing the 970 & then removed 100% nvidia drivers before putting your old amd back in?

    And to be honest, I never thought I'd be so happy with an amd card. For the price I paid vs. the nvidia for the same price....amd from now on for me!

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    If Its Not Big, I Dont Want It AOD Member AOD_Bighoss001's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    PlayerUnknown
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    In A House
    Posts
    334

    Default

    Try Booting into Safe Mode Remove drivers nvidia and AMD and reinstall the ones your need. Reboot into normal mode. Might need to install a older driver if that don't work.

  14. #14
    Ruler of The Rodents AOD Member AOD_Mouselad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Harlingen, TX
    Age
    35
    Posts
    443

    Default

    tested the monitor on another PC and it displayed the correct resolution. has to be something with the driver then.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top