Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    #whyallthehashtags
    AOD_Rafke_C's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Tom Clancy
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Antwerp
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,884

    Default MSI GTX970 Fans won't turn off

    Does anyone know why my fans of my gpu keep spinning full throttle?
    They should only start spinning when the temp of my gpu exceeds 60C (zero frozr)
    its a new gpu (last thursday complete my first build)
    since i am new to pc-builds i surely appreciate some help

    specs:
    mobo: asus maximus VIII Hero
    cpu: I5 6600k
    cpu cooler: noctua D15
    gpu: msi gtx 970 oc series
    ram: corsair 16G 2133 (2*8) vengeance
    ssd: 480gb
    psu: corsair CS550M

    thanks

  2. #2
    Ever notice how fast Windows runs? Neither did I kwahamoT's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Where it always rains
    Age
    18
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Have you installed the drivers that come with the graphics card?
    For example,
    I can toggle mine off and on from the driver installed.
    You should be able to go into advanced settings and toggle it on and off and how powerful you want it.

    If you ever see Shadow online, ask him. He's quite the computer wiz.

  3. #3
    #whyallthehashtags
    AOD_Rafke_C's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Tom Clancy
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Antwerp
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,884

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_kwahamoT View Post
    Have you installed the drivers that come with the graphics card?
    For example,
    I can toggle mine off and on from the driver installed.
    You should be able to go into advanced settings and toggle it on and off and how powerful you want it.

    If you ever see Shadow online, ask him. He's quite the computer wiz.
    i installed everything that came with the gpu...
    probably i forgot something
    anyways thanks 4 the advice!

  4. #4
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue SithHunter's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Are you running Afterburner or anything like that on your machine? The fan over-ride could be set on it.

    What card were you using previously? It's possible that it's a driver leftover that's causing problems so running Display Driver Uninstaller (Formerly Driver Sweeper) http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html could clean any residue out that's giving you headaches.

  5. #5
    #whyallthehashtags
    AOD_Rafke_C's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Tom Clancy
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Antwerp
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,884

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_SithHunter View Post
    Are you running Afterburner or anything like that on your machine? The fan over-ride could be set on it.

    What card were you using previously? It's possible that it's a driver leftover that's causing problems so running Display Driver Uninstaller (Formerly Driver Sweeper) http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html could clean any residue out that's giving you headaches.
    all new components... 1st build ever ;)
    i have installed afterburner, will go and check any overrides.
    thanks

  6. #6
    #whyallthehashtags
    AOD_Rafke_C's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Tom Clancy
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Antwerp
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,884

    Default

    no overrides active
    just saw that it is only 1 fan that keeps spinning...

  7. #7
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue SithHunter's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    12

    Default

    You can try downloading and installing NVidia Inspector and checking the fans. It's possible that there's a vBIOS problem and this will allow you to override that using an actual NVidia product to do so.

    http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html

    You could also check to see if it's a static charge in a capacitor that's causing it. Unplug your system from the wall, press and hold the power button on the machine for 30 seconds to drain the capacitors. When you do this you might want to open your tower and reseat your GPU just to be sure.

    Let me know if any of this works.

  8. #8
    #whyallthehashtags
    AOD_Rafke_C's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Tom Clancy
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Antwerp
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,884

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_SithHunter View Post
    You can try downloading and installing NVidia Inspector and checking the fans. It's possible that there's a vBIOS problem and this will allow you to override that using an actual NVidia product to do so.

    http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html

    You could also check to see if it's a static charge in a capacitor that's causing it. Unplug your system from the wall, press and hold the power button on the machine for 30 seconds to drain the capacitors. When you do this you might want to open your tower and reseat your GPU just to be sure.

    Let me know if any of this works.
    none off the above worked...
    i'm going back to the store with my graphics card, since it is a new one they should help me out

    Thanks to all 4 ur input on this issue

  9. #9
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue SithHunter's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    12

    Default

    No problem man. Hopefully this takes care of it. If you have the same issue with the new one, let me know and we'll get the thing working :)

  10. #10
    #whyallthehashtags
    AOD_Rafke_C's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Tom Clancy
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Antwerp
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,884

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_SithHunter View Post
    No problem man. Hopefully this takes care of it. If you have the same issue with the new one, let me know and we'll get the thing working :)
    just got back from the store... was hardware problem they gave me a new one and this one works perfect.
    thanks again


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top