Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Omg New to CPU temps and kinda confused... HELP!!!

    Hello everyone I hope you are all having a lovely day today! Last night I got a new program I never used before called NZXT Cam it tells you what temps you are running at. Currently I have an AMD A10 6700 APU (stock fan) with an EVGA Geforce GTX 750 TI FTW edition I also have the Cooler Master Storm Trooper case with 120mm front intake fans x2, 200mm top intake fan and a 140mm rear exhaust fan . My temps for my CPU hover around at 180 degrees Fahrenheit temps for my GPU is around 80 degrees. This is my first time running any type of temperature program and my PC works fine but I feel like those may not be good numbers for my temps. I have had this PC for almost 2 years now and I am still learning about PCs. The last time I changed the Thermal Paste was when I first got it I had to replace the MOBO but I sent it in because it was still not working ended up bieng my CPU so I guess the paste is factory applied again? I use Arctic silver 5 for thermal paste should I re apply this? Is this a good program to even use or should I use something else? Oh also if it makes any difference my MOBO is jasmine ms-7778 I do plan on upgrading at around cyber Monday for the prices but for now this is what I am stuck with. I hope you are all enjoying your day and hope to hear from someone soon and thank you for any help have a great day! :D


    P.S. I only have cam and google chrome open right now and that is what my temps are at I am actually kinda nervous to see what they jump up to when I play BF 4 haha!

    P.P.S. If those are not good numbers what can I do to fix this if anything? I do not have the money to buy a new CPU cooler just yet but when I do have the money to do so what is a good recommendation that can work with my set up now and my future set up that I wish to get?

    P.P.P.S. My future set up would look something like this: Z97 MSI gaming MOBO, Intel I5 4690k CPU both are LGA 1150 socket types. Current socket type is FM2 I think.

  2. #2
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Update 1: It has gone down to around 140 degrees F it states the min as being 135F and the max being at 215F are these normal temps for a CPU or is this bad? I did a few google searches but could not find an answer I liked and was hoping for some advice from someone that knows a thing or 2 about temps.

  3. #3
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue Bubblegun40's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Belfast
    Age
    20
    Posts
    38

    Default

    when talking about CPU or GPU temps if you start going upwards of around 180 degrees Fahrenheit it gets dangerous. you dont ever really want a cpu or GPU going above that. ideally you want a GPU to stay under 180 degrees all the time. a CPU you want to be under around 170. it worries me immensly that these are your idle temps, your idle temps should be around 100 degrees farenheit or below. so your GPU is fine.
    do you clean the dust out of your system regularly? if not you should, get a can of compressed air and blow it through your fans (while stopping the fans from moving, as this can damage them if you let them spin) and reapply the thermal paste to your CPU
    also i recommend turning your top intake fan into an exhaust fan. its possible this is the reason your temps are so high. you want to have roughly the same amount of air entering your case as you do leaving it, with your case you have far more air entering the case with only a small amount leaving it. you have loads of cool air entering your system but the hot air has nowhere to go. try turning that top intake around and see what the temps are then.
    i dont have any knowledge of air coolers as i watercool but a quick search on youtube and you should find a good one easily.

    Your GPU idle temps are good, but because the hot air wont have anywhere to go i think under load they will be very high, switch that intake around and tell me what your CPU idle is. if its still high your going to need to reapply the thermal paste, or get a new cpu cooler before you play BF4
    Last edited by Bubblegun40; 05-01-2016 at 05:18 PM.

  4. #4
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue Bubblegun40's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Belfast
    Age
    20
    Posts
    38

    Default

    also never blow inside your system to get rid of dust, the moisture in your breath can condense and wreck your hardware. which is why you need a can of compressed air

  5. #5
    Don't shoot, I'm reloading AOD Member AOD_lanius424's Avatar
    Rank
    Corporal
    Division
    Elite: Dangerous
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Age
    20
    Posts
    1,742

    Default

    One thing that bugged me is that you used Fahrenheit, I was like I have to convert now. Jk jk


    Sent from the Matrix using telepathic communication
    <signature goes here>

  6. #6
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue Bubblegun40's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Belfast
    Age
    20
    Posts
    38

    Default

    and most people work in celcius when talking about cpu and gpu temps, try converting those to celcius and searching with those.

  7. #7
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    My bad ill start using Celsius from now on. On another note my temps are down so I guess reversing the fan helped! Ill still have to re apply the paste when I feel like it haha Perhaps then I can put my I/O shield back on (I rushed when moving the PC guts from my old case to this new one and forgot the I/O back plate before putting in the MOBO first time mistakes I guess haha...)

  8. #8
    Rebel scum! AOD Member AOD_XxSwiftyxX's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Destiny 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    25
    Posts
    96

    Default

    I've got the solution for you. I was having this same issue with an MSI board, upon boot up hit delete to go into your BIOS go to hardware monitor and notice that smart fan control is on turn it off and then look for the tab that says max all. I was having this issue myself my temps were upwards to 50 degrees idle after I turned that feature off my temps went down to 32 idle and 45 ingame. The reason being is it controls your fans at a set speed a very low one at that, if you're worried about the noise it creates inside that similar menu you can adjust what fans are higher rpm's.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MSI-AMI-UEFI-BIOS-hardware-monitor.jpg 
Views:	65 
Size:	158.9 KB 
ID:	23616

  9. #9
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Well I could not find the smart fan control settings in my BIOS menu all they had was a SATA power control I could disable and something else I forgot but it did not say anything about fan control settings all I could see was how fast my fans where spinning it said my CPU fan was at 600-1500 rpm. I downloaded AMD overdrive and that told me my CPU speeds where jumping from the 100s to the 4000s area so I fixed that by going into the advanced power management and set my minimum processor state to 80% and maximum processor state to 80% and that solved the jumping around I had now it says my CPU temp is around 55c to 60c when idle my cpu clock speed is at a steady 2695MHz. Not sure if this would be ok to game with or if I should increase my cpu clock speed to the 3.7ghz core clock speed but if I set it to that would it be alright to keep it there for good even when I do decide to watch Netflix or just browse Facebook? haha
    I do want to use this only for gaming in the future when I repair my laptop but for now this is all I really got for internet browsing...

  10. #10
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Also to note cam is reading at around 60c when overdrive is reading at around 55c

  11. #11
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    I turned off turbo core as well and it seemed to help a little bit in the way of temps took it down to around 50c to 55c where before it was not dropping below 55c I upped the CPU min and max power both to 90% and is now running at a stable 3693MHz on all four cores oh also I am running a multiplier of 37 that was the default setting.

  12. #12
    Rebel scum! AOD Member AOD_XxSwiftyxX's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Destiny 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    25
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Does your BIOS look identical to this photo below?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	msi-z97-gaming-5.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	388.3 KB 
ID:	23620

  13. #13
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    No it does not it has a blue layout I bought my PC pre-built it was an HP Envy but I have modified it since.

  14. #14
    Rebel scum! AOD Member AOD_XxSwiftyxX's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Destiny 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    25
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Well have a look around your BIOS, it might be under power management or another menu. If you're having trouble finding it there then you could probably download this :

    http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php

    It should give you access to all your fans inside your computer, the main one you want to increase is your cpu fan at least. I know that when mine were low rpms and I pulled my heatsink off my processor it looked like it was burning the thermal compound so I reapplied it and the temps didn't go down until I found out about the fan control in my BIOS.

  15. #15
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Ill take another look if nothing ill try out that link and see what comes of it. Thank you for the help!

  16. #16
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Also something I noticed was my CPU temps drop to around 20c - 30c when playing Battlefield 4 but when I am not doing anything or in my browser it goes back up to 45c to 50c according to AMD overdrive.

  17. #17
    If you choke a smurf, what color does it turn? AOD Member AOD_BritishBob's Avatar
    Rank
    Corporal
    Division
    Warframe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1,045

    Default

    Almost sounds like a software bug...

    Grab speed fan or core temp and find out what that says for cpu temps. Seed fan it'sin the show the magic section.

  18. #18
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    I will look into that thanks! I am looking to buy a new CPU cooler when I have the money for it maybe that will help?

  19. #19
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Wrathzone505's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    26
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Well I fixed the issue I was running in high performance mode at all times so now I am running in the other mode and is helping out a lot! This is using AMD overdrive so green with red circle means high performance and green with black circle is power saving mode I guess but will also go to high performance when needed.

  20. #20
    Don't shoot, I'm reloading AOD Member AOD_lanius424's Avatar
    Rank
    Corporal
    Division
    Elite: Dangerous
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Age
    20
    Posts
    1,742

    Default

    So your temps are looking more reasonable now?


    Sent from the Matrix using telepathic communication
    <signature goes here>


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top