Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AOD Member AOD_pyle986's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    105

    Default Computer just shut off...won't turn back on

    As the title says, that's exactly what happened. I'm sure hoping that it was the PSU. Everything I the computer is new (within a year) aside from the PSU which is 6-7 years old. I am going to order a new one and hope that fixes it. Otherwise, any other potential issues that could have caused it?
    Nothing was abnormal at all when it shut down, just boom, all power out.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AshawTalos's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Houston, TX area
    Age
    47
    Posts
    108

    Default

    From your description I would say it is most likely the power supply. Does the motherboard have any status LEDs on it? If it does and none of them are lit, chances are it's a dead power supply. If any status LEDs are lit it still could be a bad power supply since it is possible for the supply to push one bus, say the +5 volt one, while one or more others are bad.

  3. #3
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AOD Member AOD_pyle986's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Inside the case is just a dark sad group of components...no lights at all

  4. #4
    Okay, who put a stop payment on my reality check? AOD Member AOD_KaosC57's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Destiny 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    19
    Posts
    479

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_pyle986 View Post
    Inside the case is just a dark sad group of components...no lights at all
    Then I would say it's a dead PSU. If you want a super high quality new PSU on the cheap, the EVGA SuperNova G2 line is the best. Depending on what you have, I'd go as far up as the 650w. Anything above that is overkill unless you run a Dual GPU setup.
    CPU: Intel Core i5-6600k Clocked at 4.5 Ghz GPU: Asus GTX 1070 Dual X OC
    RAM: 32 GB DDR4 Mobo: MSI Z170A SLI Plus
    Storage: 120 GB SSD, 1.7 TB total HDD space Headphones: Sennheiser HD558
    Microphone: CAD Audio u37

  5. #5
    mmmmm..Claymores AOD Member AOD_dc88's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Destiny 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    KC,KS
    Age
    29
    Posts
    386

    Default

    I would agree with Kaos. If you have any local computer repair shops, you can typically take it in and have them hook up a power supply tester if you want full confirmation. Any good place won't charge for just checking to confirm.

    I've seen other things cause a system to not turn on, but typically it has occurred after I've rooted around in a case. Doesn't sound like this is the case here.

    Origin: AOD_dc88
    Steam: dc88

    CPU:i7-4770 3.40GHz GPU:Nvidia 1070 GTX
    RAM:16GB DDR3 MOBO:MAXIMUS VII HERO
    Storage:1TB SSD, 2TB spindles Peripherals:Razer Naga,Tartarus, & Logitech G430 headset

  6. #6
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! HUMAN1ST1C's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    94

    Default

    7 years? Holy shit - I would buy a new PSU from the same company. That's an insanely long-lasting power supply! It's definitely your power supply lol

  7. #7
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AOD Member AOD_pyle986's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Order the EVGA Supernova G2 750 watts...ended up cheaper than the 650 as it was one of the newegg deals. Hopefully it works

  8. #8
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AshawTalos's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Houston, TX area
    Age
    47
    Posts
    108

    Default

    The Supernova G2 should come with a "tester" that you can put in the 24 pin cable and make sure the power supply turns on. You can use that to test your existing supply too. That little tester saved me a lot of stress when my new build did not power up the first time I hit the switch. It was a quick way to let me know my brand new power supply was not bad out of the box. Turned out I had something plugged wrong on the power/reset header on the motherboard.

  9. #9
    Banned from Forums A_fhister's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St Louis, MO
    Age
    31
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Unplug the 24 pin off the mobo and short the green wire to any ground. That turns the psu on. Quick fast n dirty

  10. #10
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AOD Member AOD_pyle986's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Just got the new PSU installed and works great...although upon further review, I think the issue may have in the end been the stupid power cord from the PSU to the outlet. That would kind of blow if it were the issue, so I will not investigate any further and just accept it was the whole old PSU. Anyhow, thanks for the tips and suggestions everyone

  11. #11
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AshawTalos's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Houston, TX area
    Age
    47
    Posts
    108

    Default

    As bad/funny as it would be to find out it was something that simple, it might be good to know you have a spare working power supply...just in case.

  12. #12
    Banned from Forums A_fhister's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St Louis, MO
    Age
    31
    Posts
    35

    Default

    *tech support*
    OK sir, I am sorry you are having issue with computer today. I help you resolve prblem.... Okay?
    Yes, first sir. Is computer plugged into outlet???

    Lol like you said who cares. You have a new PSU and don't have to worry about it shit'n out later


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top