Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Save the whales. Collect the whole set Silajan's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Age
    23
    Posts
    552

    Default Random Freeze + Crash ingame

    Hello everyone,

    After trying about 10 differents thing to fix my problem I come to you...

    My problem is while playing Rainbow Six Siege, my screen freeze at random time and the game crash after. When my screen is frozen, I can still play, I hear everything and can still shoot...

    All my drivers are up to date, the temperature of my GPU and CPU are not to high while I play and I do not have any problems in other games.

    If you need more info, just tell me!

    PC specs:

    It's a Laptop:

    Windows 10
    Intel(R) COre(TM) i7-4700MQ [email protected]
    8 Go Ram
    GeForce GT750M

  2. #2
    PS2 Open League Mod/Modder AOD Member AOD_ShadowCube's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,090

    Default Random Freeze + Crash ingame

    Specs on monitor?
    Upgrade on GPU is a good idea btw

    Sent from my nuclear fusion reactor
    Watch your Head or I'll watch it for you.

  3. #3
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AshawTalos's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Houston, TX area
    Age
    47
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Two things come to mind. First what did you change before this started and can you change it back? Second, malware/virus scan and make sure you don't have something nasty hiding in your system.

  4. #4
    Save the whales. Collect the whole set Silajan's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Age
    23
    Posts
    552

    Default

    Didn't change anything... And I don't think it's a malware/virus as I did a clean install of my computer not long ago and it was crashing two days after.

    Specs on monitor?


    Gonna check that tonigth.

    Upgrade on GPU is a good idea btw


    I don't really think I can change my GPU as I have a Laptop...

  5. #5
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AshawTalos's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Houston, TX area
    Age
    47
    Posts
    108

    Default

    I picked up some malware on a clean install of Windows 10 on my brand new system because I downloaded an installer for something from a fake link by accident. It doesn't take much to get something that can cause problems. Won't cost nothing but time to download malware-bytes and do a scan just to be sure.

  6. #6
    Save the whales. Collect the whole set Silajan's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Age
    23
    Posts
    552

    Default

    Gonna try that, but I mostly certain that my system is clear.

  7. #7
    PS2 Open League Mod/Modder AOD Member AOD_ShadowCube's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,090

    Default

    CPU could be overloaded or you ran out of Availavle memory at the time. It that was the case, add more space to file paging for more memory


    Sent from my nuclear fusion reactor
    Watch your Head or I'll watch it for you.

  8. #8
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,996

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Silajan View Post
    Hello everyone,

    After trying about 10 differents thing to fix my problem I come to you...

    My problem is while playing Rainbow Six Siege, my screen freeze at random time and the game crash after. When my screen is frozen, I can still play, I hear everything and can still shoot...

    All my drivers are up to date, the temperature of my GPU and CPU are not to high while I play and I do not have any problems in other games.

    If you need more info, just tell me!

    PC specs:

    It's a Laptop:

    Windows 10
    Intel(R) COre(TM) i7-4700MQ [email protected]
    8 Go Ram
    GeForce GT750M
    Are you playing games with laptop plugged into wall or on battery?
    If that is the case then go to NVIDIA Control Panel and Manage 3D Settings
    Then set "Power Management Mode" to "Prefer Maximum Performance" See screenshot with more details:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	78 
Size:	156.0 KB 
ID:	25123
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  9. #9
    Save the whales. Collect the whole set Silajan's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Age
    23
    Posts
    552

    Default

    CPU could be overloaded or you ran out of Availavle memory at the time. It that was the case, add more space to file paging for more memory

    How can I do that?

    Are you playing games with laptop plugged into wall or on battery?

    Playing while plugged and already set to Prefer Maximum Performance.

    But thanks!

  10. #10
    Knee High to a Worms Ass flatmouse's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    VA, US
    Age
    21
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I had this problem my laptop was randomly dropping fps while playing games that were not graphically demanding. It would sometimes drop to 10 fps or lower and crash. Eventually I figured out that even though my laptop was not hot to the touch it was under clocking itself to keep the heat at bay. I bought an extenral fan for the laptop and now I can run whatever I want again. it cost me maybe $18 on Amazon.

  11. #11
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! Jarek_Avanti's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    NH, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Are you overclocking your GPU? If so, try lowering the overclock a bit. What video settings are you playing the game on? Have you tried settings that are less demanding on your laptop?

  12. #12
    Save the whales. Collect the whole set Silajan's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Age
    23
    Posts
    552

    Default

    I had this problem my laptop was randomly dropping fps while playing games that were not graphically demanding. It would sometimes drop to 10 fps or lower and crash. Eventually I figured out that even though my laptop was not hot to the touch it was under clocking itself to keep the heat at bay. I bought an extenral fan for the laptop and now I can run whatever I want again. it cost me maybe $18 on Amazon.

    Migth try that, what did you buy? thanks!

    Are you overclocking your GPU? If so, try lowering the overclock a bit. What video settings are you playing the game on? Have you tried settings that are less demanding on your laptop?


    I play low quality

  13. #13
    Okay, who put a stop payment on my reality check? AOD Member AOD_KaosC57's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Destiny 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    19
    Posts
    479

    Default

    Ok, I was having this issue on my beastly build across multiple games (R6:S included). It was a Driver issue. For some reason the latest Nvidia Drivers (Version 368.81) were being really buggy. But don't fret! If you boot into safe mode and use a program called DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller), then completely reinstall the latest drivers, the issue should clear right up!

    Edit: There is a sort of way you can "Upgrade" your GPU by getting an External GPU dock that uses Thunderbolt 3 to work. They are a tad pricey though.
    CPU: Intel Core i5-6600k Clocked at 4.5 Ghz GPU: Asus GTX 1070 Dual X OC
    RAM: 32 GB DDR4 Mobo: MSI Z170A SLI Plus
    Storage: 120 GB SSD, 1.7 TB total HDD space Headphones: Sennheiser HD558
    Microphone: CAD Audio u37

  14. #14
    Save the whales. Collect the whole set Silajan's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Age
    23
    Posts
    552

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_KaosC57 View Post
    Ok, I was having this issue on my beastly build across multiple games (R6:S included). It was a Driver issue. For some reason the latest Nvidia Drivers (Version 368.81) were being really buggy. But don't fret! If you boot into safe mode and use a program called DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller), then completely reinstall the latest drivers, the issue should clear right up!

    Edit: There is a sort of way you can "Upgrade" your GPU by getting an External GPU dock that uses Thunderbolt 3 to work. They are a tad pricey though.
    Already tried that but I will retry it now that I did a clean install on my computer last week. And for the external GPU, I will wait for next summer and build myself a nice Gaming Computer. Thanks for the info!

  15. #15
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,996

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_KaosC57 View Post
    Ok, I was having this issue on my beastly build across multiple games (R6:S included). It was a Driver issue. For some reason the latest Nvidia Drivers (Version 368.81) were being really buggy. But don't fret! If you boot into safe mode and use a program called DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller), then completely reinstall the latest drivers, the issue should clear right up!

    Edit: There is a sort of way you can "Upgrade" your GPU by getting an External GPU dock that uses Thunderbolt 3 to work. They are a tad pricey though.
    Why do you need some software to uninstall Drivers. Just select Custom Installation and then select Perform a Clean Install when you do reinstall drivers through NVIDIA Experience. :-))))

    External GPU dock is a big waste of money right now. Rather then sell laptop and use that money to buy a good gaming laptop instead :-))))
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  16. #16
    Okay, who put a stop payment on my reality check? AOD Member AOD_KaosC57's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Destiny 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    19
    Posts
    479

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_ZedZedski View Post
    Why do you need some software to uninstall Drivers. Just select Custom Installation and then select Perform a Clean Install when you do reinstall drivers through NVIDIA Experience. :-))))

    External GPU dock is a big waste of money right now. Rather then sell laptop and use that money to buy a good gaming laptop instead :-))))
    The reason is, Clean Install does NOT remove older drivers. So the older drivers bog down your GPU and it becomes a buggy mess eventually. DDU removes ALL Nvidia/AMD/Intel Display Drivers and then you just re-install. Generally, if my Drivers are acting up, I use it and it fixes 99.99% of issues.

    And, you can't get a Pascal Mobile GPU right now. I think an External Dock would be a good choice for his current situation. the 4700MQ isn't a bad CPU, the GPU it's paired with is just bad.
    CPU: Intel Core i5-6600k Clocked at 4.5 Ghz GPU: Asus GTX 1070 Dual X OC
    RAM: 32 GB DDR4 Mobo: MSI Z170A SLI Plus
    Storage: 120 GB SSD, 1.7 TB total HDD space Headphones: Sennheiser HD558
    Microphone: CAD Audio u37

  17. #17
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,996

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_KaosC57 View Post
    The reason is, Clean Install does NOT remove older drivers. So the older drivers bog down your GPU and it becomes a buggy mess eventually. DDU removes ALL Nvidia/AMD/Intel Display Drivers and then you just re-install. Generally, if my Drivers are acting up, I use it and it fixes 99.99% of issues.

    And, you can't get a Pascal Mobile GPU right now. I think an External Dock would be a good choice for his current situation. the 4700MQ isn't a bad CPU, the GPU it's paired with is just bad.
    A Clean Install is what it actually does. It uninstalls completely old drivers and installs new drivers. I'm always doing that once the new drivers are released.

    Read the description below in the attached screenshot. A clean installation restores .............

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Driver Installation 2.JPG 
Views:	64 
Size:	119.5 KB 
ID:	25136
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  18. #18
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AshawTalos's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Houston, TX area
    Age
    47
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Every time I've tried to do a Clean Install on my system the nVidia installer crashes. Not so sure that feature always works as intended.

  19. #19
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,996

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_AshawTalos View Post
    Every time I've tried to do a Clean Install on my system the nVidia installer crashes. Not so sure that feature always works as intended.
    Well it always worked for me on Windows 7, Windows 8.1 and now on Windows 10
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  20. #20
    MOAR GLUE!! AOD Member AOD_zeke009's Avatar
    Rank
    Trainer
    Division
    Tom Clancy
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    MN
    Age
    39
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Did the clean driver install help? Also, when you reset the machine, where did you grab drivers from? Windows update?
    Game Stats: The Division ][ BF4 Stats ][ BFH Stats


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top