Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,994

    Default Made a video upgrading my GPU from GTX 970 to GTX 1070

    Hey guys!
    Just wanted to share a video that I made of upgrading my GPU from Gigabyte G1 GTX 970 to ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1070

    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  2. #2
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Cele's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    388

    Default

    Nice rig, looks sexy! and congrats on the upgrade my friend!

  3. #3
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Cele View Post
    Nice rig, looks sexy! and congrats on the upgrade my friend!
    Hey, thanks!
    Been building it since September, 2015. Some stuff has been replaced since: Case, more ram 8GB ->> 16GB (needed it to run VMs for my work), then EVGA GTX 960 ->> Gigabyte G1 GTX 970, then sleeved cables, then RGB lighting, then Motherboard Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 7 ->> ASUS Z170 Maximus Viii Hero, added another SSD and another HDD, then Gigabyte G1 GTX 970 ->> ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1070.

    In between also got Razer Mamba Tournament mouse, Razer Kraken 2015 Headsets, Razer Goliathus mouse mat and BenQ XL2411 monitor

    Next planned upgrades: water cooling NZXT x61 Kraken and i7 6700k or i7 Kaby Lake.

    Also, got a racing setup 3 weeks ago. Still working on it to make it look nice. Cables all over the place :-)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P_20160719_214517.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	101.1 KB 
ID:	25106
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  4. #4
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Cele's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    388

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_ZedZedski View Post
    Hey, thanks!
    Been building it since September, 2015. Some stuff has been replaced since: Case, more ram 8GB ->> 16GB (needed it to run VMs for my work), then EVGA GTX 960 ->> Gigabyte G1 GTX 970, then sleeved cables, then RGB lighting, then Motherboard Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 7 ->> ASUS Z170 Maximus Viii Hero, added another SSD and another HDD, then Gigabyte G1 GTX 970 ->> ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1070.

    In between also got Razer Mamba Tournament mouse, Razer Kraken 2015 Headsets, Razer Goliathus mouse mat and BenQ XL2411 monitor

    Next planned upgrades: water cooling NZXT x61 Kraken and i7 6700k or i7 Kaby Lake.

    Also, got a racing setup 3 weeks ago. Still working on it to make it look nice. Cables all over the place :-)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P_20160719_214517.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	101.1 KB 
ID:	25106
    Sounds like quite the build!
    I've got the same monitor and absolutely love it! one question is how do I adjust my Hertz rate on Win 10? I did it on Win 8 but i'm not sure how to set it to 144hz on Win 10 :O

    And wow! a racing setup?!?! looks sick!

  5. #5
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Cele View Post
    Sounds like quite the build!
    I've got the same monitor and absolutely love it! one question is how do I adjust my Hertz rate on Win 10? I did it on Win 8 but i'm not sure how to set it to 144hz on Win 10 :O

    And wow! a racing setup?!?! looks sick!
    Thanks!
    It's easy. Follow these 4 steps in the screenshots:

    Step 1
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	89.4 KB 
ID:	25108

    Step 2
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	80.3 KB 
ID:	25109

    Step 3
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	82.4 KB 
ID:	25110

    Step 4
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	67.8 KB 
ID:	25111

    Btw, it is my 100 post on this forum!
    Last edited by AOD_ZED; 07-26-2016 at 11:55 PM.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  6. #6
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Cele's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    388

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_ZedZedski View Post
    Thanks!
    It's easy. Follow these 4 steps in the screenshots:

    Step 1
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	89.4 KB 
ID:	25108

    Step 2
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	80.3 KB 
ID:	25109

    Step 3
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	82.4 KB 
ID:	25110

    Step 4
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	67.8 KB 
ID:	25111

    Btw, it is my 100 post on this forum!
    Grats on 100!
    I did it but i only got 60 hz as my highest :(

    http://imgur.com/a/wnu3c

    same monitor as yours too (144hz)

  7. #7
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Cele's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    388

    Default

    Fixed it. Unplugged the hdmi and plugged in my DVI :) Thanks for the visuals!

  8. #8
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Cele View Post
    Fixed it. Unplugged the hdmi and plugged in my DVI :) Thanks for the visuals!
    Yeah, I think HDMI 1.4 doesn't support 144hz (if that is what you have on your GPU) but HDMI 2.0 does support 144hz for sure. Mine is connected through DVI-D anyways and is more than enough for 1080p 144hz
    .
    DVI-D (9.9 Gbs) is faster than HDMI 1.4 (8.16 Gbs) but slower than HDMI 2.0 (18Gbs and 14.4Gbs after overhead) but it doesn't matter since 9.9 Gbs is enough to transfer data at 1080p 144Hz and 1440p 144hz but if you go 4k then HDMI 2.0 or DisplayPort.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  9. #9
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Cele's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    388

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_ZedZedski View Post
    Yeah, I think HDMI 1.4 doesn't support 144hz (if that is what you have on your GPU) but HDMI 2.0 does support 144hz for sure. Mine is connected through DVI-D anyways and is more than enough for 1080p 144hz
    .
    DVI-D (9.9 Gbs) is faster than HDMI 1.4 (8.16 Gbs) but slower than HDMI 2.0 (18Gbs and 14.4Gbs after overhead) but it doesn't matter since 9.9 Gbs is enough to transfer data at 1080p 144Hz and 1440p 144hz but if you go 4k then HDMI 2.0 or DisplayPort.
    Learn something new every day! If I upgrade to 4K I'll make sure to. How are the graphics differences from the 970 to the 1070?

  10. #10
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Cele View Post
    Learn something new every day! If I upgrade to 4K I'll make sure to. How are the graphics differences from the 970 to the 1070?
    Well first all games run much better with higher settings and smoother.
    Second, they look better textured.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  11. #11
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Cele's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    388

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_ZedZedski View Post
    Well first all games run much better with higher settings and smoother.
    Second, they look better textured.
    That's great man, happy for you

  12. #12
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Cele View Post
    That's great man, happy for you
    Thanks bro!
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  13. #13
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue Z3ROFR0ST's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Age
    36
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Sweet video

  14. #14
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Z3ROFR0ST View Post
    Sweet video
    Thanks!
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top