Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Can I have your Tots The_Revanchist's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Age
    26
    Posts
    14

    Default Location location, motherboards?

    Hey, recently I bought a bunch of new computer components *RAM, GPU and a new case - Cooler Master HAF 912* and planned to buy a new Motherboard to fit into it, The issue with my current board is that its in a HP Pre-Built which means its designed for this case in specific and doesnt support my new RAM speeds. What my question is - What motherboard can y'all recommend, my eye is currently on these two but I was hoping for other recommendations from people who know more about Motherboards than I do

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00K2RQDXY...=IN0S38QZ8S352
    and
    https://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-GA-Z...-Z97X-GAMING+7

    Thanks,
    The_Revanchist

  2. #2
    PS2 Open League Mod/Modder AOD Member AOD_ShadowCube's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,080

    Default Location location, motherboards?

    I have had a Gigabyte motherboard but to be honest, the customer service suck, their products are good quality but not the customer service.
    Here is a mid-range MOBO from ASUS
    https://m.newegg.com/Product/index?i...76&PID=3938566

    Or
    If you willing to pay extra for better on-board audio 4-way SLI or 3-way Crossfire, more legacy support here is the ASUS z170 A
    https://m.newegg.com/Product/index?i...76&PID=3938566


    Sent from my nuclear fusion reactor
    Watch your Head or I'll watch it for you.

  3. #3
    Don't piss me off! I'm running out of places to hide the bodies AOD Member AOD_ZED's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    AOD Racing
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,994

    Default

    Stay away from Gigabyte boards. I had Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 7 board for 6 month and had only headaches with it. Poor BIOS interface and poor overclocking capabilities (BIOS is crashing very often), problems with sound (more details can be found in this Gigabyte Forum topic that I opened December 2015 and since many people replied with same problems: http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php?topic=16850.0)

    I replaced that board with ASUS Z170 Maximus Viii Hero and did not have any issues ever since. I had this ASUS board for 4 month now and it works perfect. I've been using ASUS motherboards for 15 years and never had issues.

    Go with ASUS or MSI. Best boards IMHO.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_0...dKywFi90AiVjAQ
    CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 Ghz 1.25v
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 @ 2050 Mhz / 8400 Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000MHz

  4. #4
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Criggles's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    27
    Posts
    63

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_The_Revanchist View Post
    Hey, recently I bought a bunch of new computer components *RAM, GPU and a new case - Cooler Master HAF 912* and planned to buy a new Motherboard to fit into it, The issue with my current board is that its in a HP Pre-Built which means its designed for this case in specific and doesnt support my new RAM speeds. What my question is - What motherboard can y'all recommend, my eye is currently on these two but I was hoping for other recommendations from people who know more about Motherboards than I do

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00K2RQDXY...=IN0S38QZ8S352
    and
    https://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-GA-Z...-Z97X-GAMING+7

    Thanks,
    The_Revanchist
    What's your budget and do you need a certain number of ports/features? M.2, multiple PCI-E slots for sli/cfx, Sata, multiple Ethernet ports, fan headers?

    The non-oc ram speeds vary by the memory controller of the CPU. For example my 4930k is officially supported by Intel to run 1333/1600/1866. Anything higher is an OC'd speed for the RAM and isn't guaranteed, however with a decent motherboard and a bit of silicon lottery can be achieved.

    Secondly, since you are pulling the CPU from your HP prebuiit, is it a K-Series CPU with unlocked multipliers? Without it, you're going to have a much tougher time attempting to overlook it.

    Also, motherboards are standardized in form factors so you should technically be able to use the existing one. Can you open up the tower and post a pic of the current HP motherboard?

    Sent from my Nexus 9 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Can I have your Tots The_Revanchist's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Age
    26
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Criggles View Post
    What's your budget and do you need a certain number of ports/features? M.2, multiple PCI-E slots for sli/cfx, Sata, multiple Ethernet ports, fan headers?

    The non-oc ram speeds vary by the memory controller of the CPU. For example my 4930k is officially supported by Intel to run 1333/1600/1866. Anything higher is an OC'd speed for the RAM and isn't guaranteed, however with a decent motherboard and a bit of silicon lottery can be achieved.

    Secondly, since you are pulling the CPU from your HP prebuiit, is it a K-Series CPU with unlocked multipliers? Without it, you're going to have a much tougher time attempting to overlook it.

    Also, motherboards are standardized in form factors so you should technically be able to use the existing one. Can you open up the tower and post a pic of the current HP motherboard?

    Sent from my Nexus 9 using Tapatalk
    Firstly, not looking to go past $150 though $160ish will be acceptable. And I AM using a Non-K CPU though I'm sure I can get my RAM atleast close to where I need it for maximum usage...

    Also before you ask, I'd prefer to not upgrade the CPU but if need be I can sell mine and buy the i7-4790k with that money to help save on it so *Shrug*.

    Finally, my issue with the case/motherboard is it has a bunch of custom wiring inside and the I/O ports dont line up properly in the new case meaning I cant reach them if it were screwed in, nor can I even screw the board in with that scenario. I said that because I'm to lazy to open it up again and take pictures since I already tried to put it in the new case and know the issue :P

  6. #6
    Can I have your Tots The_Revanchist's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Age
    26
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_ShadowCube View Post
    I have had a Gigabyte motherboard but to be honest, the customer service suck, their products are good quality but not the customer service.
    Here is a mid-range MOBO from ASUS
    https://m.newegg.com/Product/index?i...76&PID=3938566

    Or
    If you willing to pay extra for better on-board audio 4-way SLI or 3-way Crossfire, more legacy support here is the ASUS z170 A
    https://m.newegg.com/Product/index?i...76&PID=3938566


    Sent from my nuclear fusion reactor
    Really thankful for the recommendations but I thought you could tell from the motherboards I linked, I have a 1150 Socket CPU, not 1151

  7. #7
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Criggles's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    27
    Posts
    63

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_The_Revanchist View Post
    Firstly, not looking to go past $150 though $160ish will be acceptable. And I AM using a Non-K CPU though I'm sure I can get my RAM atleast close to where I need it for maximum usage...

    Also before you ask, I'd prefer to not upgrade the CPU but if need be I can sell mine and buy the i7-4790k with that money to help save on it so *Shrug*.

    Finally, my issue with the case/motherboard is it has a bunch of custom wiring inside and the I/O ports dont line up properly in the new case meaning I cant reach them if it were screwed in, nor can I even screw the board in with that scenario. I said that because I'm to lazy to open it up again and take pictures since I already tried to put it in the new case and know the issue :P


    I've stuck with ASUS motherboards and have had pretty good luck with them so far. Here's the one I'd recommend. Updated with M.2 slots and USB 3.1. The board is well within your budget and has most of the features you're looking for. Can obviously spend more money to get more flashy boards with extra features but if you're not planning on using them, it's a waste of money. ASUS RMA service is a hit/miss so that's probably the only bad thing about them.

    Link
    Newegg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813132512
    Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/ASUS-Motherbo...7-e+usb3.1+lga


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top