Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: PC problem

  1. #1
    For Sale: Parachute. Only used once, never opened, small stain AOD_Whaleco's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    War Thunder
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,525

    Default PC problem

    Hello there,

    since some time now, I was getting really laggy matches in War Thunder, first I thought it would be because I played with you guys on the american server instead of the european, but this week, when playing a match with some other DoA members, my PC shut down in the middle of the battle. Then it became clear to me that not only the War Thunder game deteriorated in game speed, but also every other game I play. So I started to check my PC & the first test I ran is windows memory diagnostics, immediately revealing that there is a problem. Had to run it twice, because on restarting after the first test, it crashed again. Other then that I can't say anything, for the report just mentions that there is a problem & that to repair the problem I need to contact the manufacturer.

    Meanwhile I've had some more crashes, so there is definitely a problem, but I just wanted to test the memory issue a bit further, anyone knows a good memory test program (free)?
    Until the problem is resolved, I'm going to refrain from playing War Thunder (when I'm sure it's the memory, I'll replace it without delay). I'm not going to ask for a LOA because it won't take that long, if it's the memory I'll replace it within the week, but so you guys know why I'm at the moment not in the air with you.

    Greetz & happy hunting meanwhile!

  2. #2
    What is time to an immortal?
    AOD_Cadimus's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Battlefront II
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Santa ana, CA
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,079

    Default

    I would check the psu as well. random shut offs tend to be because of a failing psu.

  3. #3
    It was my fault. AOD Member AOD_P_A_G_A_N's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    War Thunder
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    337

    Default

    The last time I needed to check RAM, which was a few years ago now, I used Memtest86. It's free and seemed to work well.

  4. #4
    Oops. My brain just hit a bad sector DaddyWabbit's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    United States of Texas
    Age
    43
    Posts
    912

    Default

    Here are a Couple good videos to improve computer settings and FPS and your gaming experience, all affect LAG.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y67hMRM9ZRc

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2nKAluvDb8

  5. #5
    For Sale: Parachute. Only used once, never opened, small stain AOD_Whaleco's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    War Thunder
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,525

    Default

    Sunday I have opened my PC & did a thorough dust buster job, there was already more dust than I anticipated. Took my time for it, even used a straw for places my vacuum cleaner couldn't normally reach. Also removed the memory sticks & made sure no dust was in the fittings & put them back. After that I ran memtest again & it gave no errors.
    Yesterday I tested 2 games, War Thunder being one of them & played some battles on the US server. FPS was never below 40, mostly around 60. (The last weeks I went below 20 FPS many times & never over 40).
    I will have to monitor it further, perhaps the problem is not a continuous one, but if things continue like yesterday then that's like she used to run before... :)

  6. #6
    What is time to an immortal?
    AOD_Cadimus's Avatar
    Rank
    Sergeant
    Division
    Battlefront II
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Santa ana, CA
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,079

    Default

    Good to hear Whaleco
    "In midnight clad" "If you suspect you have a case of the Pilot Tinkiez please report to the nearest medical officer"

  7. #7
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! devildog76's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    houston texas
    Age
    41
    Posts
    56

    Default

    good to hear , but your issue isn't ram , most likely you should have at least 4gb ram on a newish pc, if it is crashing like that and your said it was very dirty inside it may be a overheating issue or like cad said check you psu and make sure it is not going out , its easy to test just get a light tester and turn your pc off and test the psu connect points for connectivity.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top