Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Odd question...

  1. #1
    Ever notice how fast Windows runs? Neither did I ReapeRx124's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Southern Colorado
    Age
    22
    Posts
    269

    Geekout Odd question...

    I've finally decided to post something else, and it is this question;

    What browser do you all use for Battlelog?
    I usually use Firefox for Battlelog, but Chrome seems to be easier on my machine and I get less frame drops and things like that. (My computer is clean, I defrag, scan for viruses/malware/adware and all that jazz, so don't suggest it plz.)

    My specs are as follows, (If this makes any difference, which I'm sure it does. Specs are everything.)
    GTX 560
    AMD Phenom II quad core processor at 3..0GHZ
    8GB of (What I believe to be) DDR2 RAM
    Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate
    Gigabyte AM2+/AM3 Motherboard

    Any ideas?

    (I know, my system sucks.)

  2. #2
    If you choke a smurf, what color does it turn? Redd_slayer's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Age
    20
    Posts
    1,276

    Default

    Chrome

  3. #3
    Keep honking. I'm reloading TheFish19's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Utah
    Age
    30
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Def Chrome.

  4. #4
    Save your breath. You'll need it to blow up your date! Siegmier's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Rochester, NY/Long Valley, NJ
    Age
    22
    Posts
    857

    Default

    Hm I had been using fire fox as well, although now that you mention it I have been getting strange freeze ups, I will have to try chrome!

  5. #5
    You are depriving some poor village of its idiot AOD Member AOD_Timmee45's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    725

    Default

    I started out BF3 using firefox, and eventually ended up switching to chrome after so many issues with the battlelog plugin installation getting screwed up or not installing right on firefox. Been using Chrome ever since. Chrome is actually my main browser for basically everything (as I type this using Firefox, haha).

  6. #6
    The Only Thing Necessary for the Triumph of Evil is that Good Men Do Nothing AOD Member AOD_TxShadow's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United States
    Age
    30
    Posts
    851

    Default

    I've only used Firefox so far and have had no issues personally.

  7. #7
    Call in a favor. Call in every favor you can. It might add up to a chance AOD Member AOD_Wingdude100's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    PlayerUnknown
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Illinois
    Age
    19
    Posts
    634

    Default

    I use something strange called internet explorer.

  8. #8
    I get enough exercise just pushing my luck Shattered831's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Maine
    Age
    31
    Posts
    361

    Default

    Chrone actually takes up more resources from what ive seen. But runs a lot better an smoother so thats what i use as well.

  9. #9
    Ever notice how fast Windows runs? Neither did I ReapeRx124's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Southern Colorado
    Age
    22
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Shattered831 View Post
    Chrone actually takes up more resources from what ive seen. But runs a lot better an smoother so thats what i use as well.
    I've seen that as well, just in the task manager. Chrome doesn't seem to screw with BF4 as bad as Firefox does for some reason.

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Timmee45 View Post
    I started out BF3 using firefox, and eventually ended up switching to chrome after so many issues with the battlelog plugin installation getting screwed up or not installing right on firefox. Been using Chrome ever since. Chrome is actually my main browser for basically everything (as I type this using Firefox, haha).
    Heh, I had the same issues with Chrome, so I switched to Firefox and stuck with it ever since. I use Chrome for everything, and now it looks like Battlelog is joining that list.

  10. #10
    I get enough exercise just pushing my luck 13uckFUtter's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Rockford
    Age
    28
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Chrome will use all available resources your pc has. It's highly multi-threaded. It will also depend on each website as java script coders can code for usage on the whole cpu( not that they would want to do that).

  11. #11
    Save your breath. You'll need it to blow up your date! Siegmier's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Rochester, NY/Long Valley, NJ
    Age
    22
    Posts
    857

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Shattered831 View Post
    Chrone actually takes up more resources from what ive seen. But runs a lot better an smoother so thats what i use as well.
    more resources as in Memory? CPU? Hard Drive? which ones?

  12. #12
    I get enough exercise just pushing my luck Shattered831's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Maine
    Age
    31
    Posts
    361

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Siegmier View Post
    more resources as in Memory? CPU? Hard Drive? which ones?
    Memory from what ive seen gets hit the worse, on my rig it avgs about 60-100k per process which there are 5 or 6 of. Should be able to see what it does on your rig through task manager.

  13. #13
    Save your breath. You'll need it to blow up your date! Siegmier's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Rochester, NY/Long Valley, NJ
    Age
    22
    Posts
    857

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Shattered831 View Post
    Memory from what ive seen gets hit the worse, on my rig it avgs about 60-100k per process which there are 5 or 6 of. Should be able to see what it does on your rig through task manager.
    phew, I was worried it would take up more Hard Drive, thats what causes me issues

  14. #14
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! Frostythehitman21's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Hull Massachuttess
    Age
    26
    Posts
    101

    Default

    i used Firefox years ago once chrome came out i jumped on that bandwagon and have not looked back i never have any problems with it i love all the features of chrome syncing with my phone as i do a lot on it during the day.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top