Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Billerkiller3's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lunenburg MA
    Posts
    78

    Default AOD Servers ping spiking up to 900

    Ok, over the last 2 weeks or so, I noticed the ping spiking while playing AOD servers up to 900 for myself and causing rubberbanding to the point I can't move my guy. At first I thought it was at my end. So I checked out my pc and internet modem & router. Then I thought it was BF4 itself. Last night I was playing AOD servers and pubs were complaining on the high ping, one said it was 843 & the other said it was 900. Right after that mine went up to 818 and rubber banded. So today I decided to try non AOD servers. The ping stayed steady did not spike and stayed low under 100. Tried a few servers non AOD and a few matches, no spike at all. I love AOD, but I think the servers have an issue with the ping spike. I don't know if this is already being addressed or not, but could you look into it. Maybe the servers need to be rebooted or the issue corrected. I don't know anything about the servers. I just want to play on AOD servers without the ping issue.

  2. #2
    The Only Thing Necessary for the Triumph of Evil is that Good Men Do Nothing AOD Member AOD_TxShadow's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United States
    Age
    30
    Posts
    851

    Default

    I too have experienced the 900+ ping spikes, and just figured my PC was downloading something massive or another party in the house was uploading images or videos to random social media. So it is interesting to see another member has had the issue.

    That being said, I'm pretty sure that I have experienced it as well on other servers, but 99% of my time is spend on AOD servers these days so it is hard to be certain.

    Anyone else had a similar experience?

  3. #3
    Save your breath. You'll need it to blow up your date! Siegmier's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Rochester, NY/Long Valley, NJ
    Age
    22
    Posts
    857

    Default

    Mine does as well, but that is an issue with my internet, we believe we have a break in our line, or a bad motem, BC it happens in every online game, and effects everyting, from youtube to games, to basic internet. This has gotten to a point for me where I literally can not play any games, save for singleplayer games. But I know its on my end, so I can't really help you sorry :-)

    EDIT: When you notice it happening, go into command prompt and type: ping google.com -t

    Post the results, IF you are getting high pings, or severe packet loss, this will tell you if it is on your end.

  4. #4
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue Shoxie's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Atlanta
    Age
    40
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Happens to me too. I guarantee it is NOT my PC, modem, or ISP. I work for my ISP as a network engineer(Comcast).

  5. #5
    I get enough exercise just pushing my luck 13uckFUtter's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Rockford
    Age
    28
    Posts
    339

    Wwjd

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Shoxie View Post
    Happens to me too. I guarantee it is NOT my PC, modem, or ISP. I work for my ISP as a network engineer(Comcast).

    You should bump me up a few megs!

  6. #6
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue Shoxie's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Atlanta
    Age
    40
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Speed depends on boot file that modem downloads during initialization with CMTS (cable modem termination system). The entire process is automated and cant be "hacked" unless a MAC address is spoofed that is authorized to transmit at higher speeds. Hint hint nudge nudge

  7. #7
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Billerkiller3's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lunenburg MA
    Posts
    78

    Default

    Update:
    Still getting the high ping spikes up to 900 on AOD Servers & also non-AOD servers. I have Verizon, no FIOS available in my town, town too small. Had the modem replaced to a Verizon D-Link Modem/router, but I'm using the Linksys AC 1900 through the Verizon Modem/Router. When I run the Verizon ping tests, low pings all the time, no spikes. Verizon checked the phone line when I called them, no problems there. they did not reset the line though. We had bad phone lines in the past and they replaced them. Wonder if that is the issue again. Just want to play BF4 without rubber banding and unplayable with the high ping spikes.

  8. #8
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue Shoxie's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Atlanta
    Age
    40
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Run a ping test to the ip of the server in a continuous loop. Ping ???.???.???.??? -t
    After that run tracert to it as well tjat will tell you exactly where the problem lies.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top