Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    "All these damn medics need to get off my revives!" Atriarc's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Braunfels, TX
    Age
    28
    Posts
    120

    Default GTX 980 ACX 2.0 TDR w/ & w/o hard lock

    Been randomly getting TDRs with and without hard locks when doing things on my computer. It seems more so when the card is under load, regardless of how heavy the load is. However, a heavy load does seem to cause more frequent TDRs. Everything I've looked up seems to point at poo poo drivers. I'm looking to see if there is a fix before I try and swap it for an AMD replacement.

    System Specs
    -
    Operating System: Windows 7
    Motherboard: MSI MS-7693
    Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 980 ACX 2.0
    Graphics Driver: 535.30
    Sound Card: HTO Striker 7.1
    Processor: AMD FX-8150 (~3.6Ghz)

  2. #2
    Don't find fault, find a remedy. -Henry Ford
    AOD_Silencer77's Avatar
    Rank
    Command Sergeant
    Division
    Black Desert
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1,617

    Default

    TDR?

    Look for temperature and power issues as well.

    AMD - not ideal in my personal opinion. The company is hurting in a large way while NVIDIA is delving into deep learning with CUDA. Don't waste your money on AMD. - my advice.

  3. #3
    "All these damn medics need to get off my revives!" Atriarc's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Braunfels, TX
    Age
    28
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Timeout Detection & Recovery. I usually have had zero issues with nVidia GPUs. This is a first for me which is why I'm so confused.

  4. #4
    "All these damn medics need to get off my revives!" Atriarc's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Braunfels, TX
    Age
    28
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Just got done running FurMark and OC Scanner X both on the highest settings I could get them to. GPU temp was never over 76 Degrees and Power Consumption stayed right aroung 98% according to OC Scanner X. It's seeming more and more like a driver issue than hardware defect/failure. I know PS2 has TDR'ed 3-4 times today. 2 of which required a hard reboot of the system to recover from. GTAV will randomly crash the actual driver when I play it.

  5. #5
    Don't find fault, find a remedy. -Henry Ford
    AOD_Silencer77's Avatar
    Rank
    Command Sergeant
    Division
    Black Desert
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1,617

    Default

    Very possibly a driver challenge. Also bear in mind that you could have gotten a bad card or perhaps it's CPU related. PS2 is heavy CPU, not certain of GTAV.

    Try to burn in each major component. Prime 95 on CPU overight, Futuremark Burnin on card overnight, etc.

  6. #6
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue Massa191's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Age
    46
    Posts
    49

    Default

    If you can, check the power output of your psu on the 8/6 pins. It could be dipping below what is needed to have the card going at full steam. However bad card can be the issue. Only one bad cap can ruin the day :)

  7. #7
    "All these damn medics need to get off my revives!" Atriarc's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Braunfels, TX
    Age
    28
    Posts
    120

    Default

    It seems since I installed the EVGA specific monitoring/control software the problem has stopped. I'll give it a couple more days before I probe further. Thanks for the advice and information. Will update further!

  8. #8
    "All these damn medics need to get off my revives!" Atriarc's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Braunfels, TX
    Age
    28
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Still getting the issue randomly. Some days it works perfectly, some days it doesn't. Had a lot of HDD and SSD issues before all of this and am running on an older HDD now. Ordered pretty much new everything outside of a CPU as AMD hasn't pushed very many new CPUs out. That will make everything in my rig new except the CPU. More to come.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top