Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31
  1. #1
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! BendersGreat's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Age
    27
    Posts
    56

    Default Getting a new tower for school

    So I recently started a game development program and my parents are funding me a new computer to help me with my work.
    I also do a lot of 3d modelling and stuff in after effects in my spare time (and obviously like to play some games)
    and I know my budget is around 1500-2000$(cdn)
    I know from speaking with my profs that if I were to get something i should look for atleast the following
    -Geforce 960 2g or above
    -quad i7
    -16GB ram
    Everything else is kinda up in the air as theres so many choices and I'm not sure as to what to go with.
    I've been looking at pcpartpicker . com and would really love to hear someone's input/ideas
    Thanks

    -Bender

  2. #2
    Knee High to a Worms Ass JungleJuu's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have a GeForce 960 and it handles most of everything but to this day I still regret not giving the extra bucks for a 970.

  3. #3
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! BendersGreat's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Age
    27
    Posts
    56

    Default

    good to know, thanks. was thinking of spending most of the budget just on the cpu ,motherboard and video card.

  4. #4
    Knee High to a Worms Ass JungleJuu's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3

    Default

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uK0VAPwrnmM

    Try seing this, I am trying to selll mine but having problems getting what I think it's worth since my setup is 3 months old.

  5. #5
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Sargent Horse's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Age
    17
    Posts
    92

    Default

    You can do awesome things with 1500-2000 dollars. I would say get an i5-4460 with a 970. When I get home I can put a build together for ya.

  6. #6
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! BendersGreat's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Age
    27
    Posts
    56

    Default

    That would be awesome Sargent Horse! and Jungle that was a helpful vid. seems as though the 970 is prob the best bang for your buck.

    also looking for some suggestions on some super sweet cases(around 100ish)

  7. #7
    Knee High to a Worms Ass JungleJuu's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3

    Default

    No problem man, hope you get the best setup out there for your money.
    A bit off topic but here is my setup:

    CPU: Intel Core i5 4690K @ 3.50GHz
    RAM: Crucial Ballistix SP DDR3-1600 DC - 8GB - Going to buy 8 GB more.
    GPU: 2048MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (MSI)
    PSU: Corsair CX500M - 500W PSU
    Motherboard: MSI Z97 GAMING 5
    Harddrives: 465GB Seagate
    119 GB Crucial_CT128MX100SSD1 (SSD)
    Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    Case: Corsair Carbide SPEC-01 / http://www.corsair.com/en-us/~/media...8EC.ashx?w=380

  8. #8
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Sargent Horse's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Age
    17
    Posts
    92

    Default

    I went a little crazy here :P I can do one that is cheaper but with 1500-2000 budget, I didnt skimp out on anything (except the Optical Drive) I will warn that the case I picked is pretty damn big, so if you have a space requirement I might have to pick another case. Other than that I think I think that is good (I did not water cool it). Post if you have any other requirements

  9. #9
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! BendersGreat's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Age
    27
    Posts
    56

    Default

    i feel lke you meant to put a link or something :P
    but yea no space req's. i've read that there are some decently cheap and effective (and no maintanence req'd) water coolers but that being said also that the better quality cooling systems are just as good as water coolers.

  10. #10
    Foxtrot, Unicorn, Charlie, Kilo AOD Member AOD_Neotoad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Taxachussetts
    Age
    28
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JungleJuu View Post
    I have a GeForce 960 and it handles most of everything but to this day I still regret not giving the extra bucks for a 970.
    And yet I regret buying a 970 and not a 980. And now 980 Ti?

  11. #11
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Sargent Horse's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Age
    17
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Link XD http://pcpartpicker.com/p/GbPFD3 You could ( and probably should) add more fans to this but that is an opinion thing

  12. #12
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! BendersGreat's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Age
    27
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Sorry about the late response. Been away for the last few days. I made a few tweaks and may have surpassed my budget a bit but hopefully when i propose it to my mom she doesnt make me downgrade.
    http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/user/mark...d/#view=mBDv6h
    will keep you updated

  13. #13
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! BendersGreat's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Age
    27
    Posts
    56

    Default

    also already have a 256 SSD which is why its not included int he build ( and have windows 7)

  14. #14
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Sargent Horse's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Age
    17
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Sound Card? Why? Good 980. I didn't go 980 for $ reasons. I prefer Ballistix and Seagate but that is just personal preference.

  15. #15
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! BendersGreat's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Age
    27
    Posts
    56

    Default

    not sure as to whether the sound card is redundant or not. i know i will be doing some sound design so not sure if the motherboard will be good enough. either way i added it only as an optional thing that i figured id wait for feedback on.

  16. #16
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Sargent Horse's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Age
    17
    Posts
    92

    Default

    I am actually not sure on the purpose of a sound card, I have never purchased one or needed one so I cant answer that one. :(

  17. #17
    Why, you stuck-up, half-witted, scruffy-looking nerf herder! AOD Member AOD_MatchMaker's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefront II
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,833

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sargent Horse View Post
    I am actually not sure on the purpose of a sound card, I have never purchased one or needed one so I cant answer that one. :(
    For higher quality sounds, mostly for professional use but some people just like the increase in quality.
    Uh, we had a slight weapons malfunction, but uh... everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?


  18. #18
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Sargent Horse's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Age
    17
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_TheMatchMaker View Post
    For higher quality sounds, mostly for professional use but some people just like the increase in quality.
    Where do you connect that and to what do you connect it to?

    Wait Bender, are you in Canada? I think PCpartpicker uses USD so if you are in Canada, your prices will be higher.

  19. #19
    Why, you stuck-up, half-witted, scruffy-looking nerf herder! AOD Member AOD_MatchMaker's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefront II
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,833

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sargent Horse View Post
    Where do you connect that and to what do you connect it to?
    I believe the card plugs into a pci port

    Sent from my Moto X using Tapatalk
    Uh, we had a slight weapons malfunction, but uh... everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?


  20. #20
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Sargent Horse's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Age
    17
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_TheMatchMaker View Post
    I believe the card plugs into a pci port

    Sent from my Moto X using Tapatalk
    How much better is your audio? Sounds like a waste of money and a port.


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top