Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Internet

  1. #1
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! AOD Member AOD_Dragninja7's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    97

    Default Internet

    My internet provider is Cox, it may be fast but my internet always cuts out, this past week haven't been able to play any games because my internet keeps cutting out for short periods of time every 5 minutes. Anyone might know a fix?
    Da Herro~!

  2. #2
    Keep honking. I'm reloading AOD Member AOD_MaNii's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    War Thunder
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Netherlands
    Age
    29
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Call your provider?

    - reset your router?
    - Is ur connection wireless or cable (on your pc/laptop) ? try cable
    - Is the connection also drops on other devices?

  3. #3
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! AOD Member AOD_Dragninja7's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    97

    Default

    -I've reset the router numerous times, and even got a new router
    -I have wireless on my desktop, trying cable doesn't fix it
    -The connection cuts out on the whole house

    Is it possible that a virus or hacker is causing these problems? I've had the same problem for 2 years but it's getting worse.
    Is it possible that it's because of our old modem?
    Da Herro~!

  4. #4
    Personal Bullet Shield AOD Member AOD_zackman0010's Avatar
    Rank
    Recruit
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Mississippi State, MS
    Posts
    38

    Default

    It may be due to your old modem or old lines on the house. At my house, we disconnected our Internet for a short while. When it was reconnected, the lines that were currently run were outdated. The modem wasn't capable of supporting the new standard either. They had to replace both of them. Call your provider and talk to them about it. They will be able to give you more info.

  5. #5
    Foxtrot, Unicorn, Charlie, Kilo AOD Member AOD_Neotoad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Taxachussetts
    Age
    28
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Dragninja7 View Post
    -I've reset the router numerous times, and even got a new router
    -I have wireless on my desktop, trying cable doesn't fix it
    -The connection cuts out on the whole house

    Is it possible that a virus or hacker is causing these problems? I've had the same problem for 2 years but it's getting worse.
    Is it possible that it's because of our old modem?
    Are you using a wireless USB receiver or a PCI card?

  6. #6
    Can I have your Tots Fluffy's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Age
    31
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Call cox tech support up and ask them if they see any issues on your lines at all and to check your modem. if its an issue on their end they will generally fix it for you no charge at all. I have cox my self so it would be good to just call them even if the issue is not on their end they may be able to pin point where it is.

  7. #7
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! AOD Member AOD_Dragninja7's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    97

    Default

    I think I'm using a USB receiver
    Da Herro~!

  8. #8
    Foxtrot, Unicorn, Charlie, Kilo AOD Member AOD_Neotoad's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Taxachussetts
    Age
    28
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Dragninja7 View Post
    I think I'm using a USB receiver
    Im convinced those are the worst technology ever sold to consumers. Every single one I've used (over 15 years) has had drop-off issues, with no resolution ever found with my ISP or other hardware. I've read that USB does not deliver enough power for the receiver to get a strong and constant signal. Go with a PCI card or figure out a way to hardwire your internet.

  9. #9
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Mokona512's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    419

    Default

    Call the ISP, and also bother them until they credit your account for the down time. (do this every single time there is a problem). This will get them to take your issue more seriously and properly fix it.

    And if everyone in your area can follow along, it will cause the company to eventually upgrade the supporting infrastructure in the area.

  10. #10
    Banned from Forums RTMPro's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    When I had issues with my broadband, my ISP put my account on watch for 24hrs to record the amount of drops. Once they had proof at there end, they sent a technician out to the exchange. He replaced something there and I stopped having the issue.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Why, you stuck-up, half-witted, scruffy-looking nerf herder! AOD Member AOD_MatchMaker's Avatar
    Rank
    Specialist
    Division
    Battlefront II
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,835

    Default

    I had an issue like this before, turns out a squirrel chewed my cable line. If you own your modem you can get into it and see the signal strength. I think 30+dB is where you should be.
    Uh, we had a slight weapons malfunction, but uh... everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?


  12. #12
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! AOD Member AOD_Dragninja7's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Thanks everyone, my mom and I are gonna try connecting the cable to the computer first before we try getting a new modem and/or calling Cox support
    Da Herro~!

  13. #13
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! Sargent Horse's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Age
    17
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_Dragninja7 View Post
    Thanks everyone, my mom and I are gonna try connecting the cable to the computer first before we try getting a new modem and/or calling Cox support
    I agree with Matchamaker, sounds like a physical cable problem somewhere. Goodluck and tell us how it goes!


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top