Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AOD Member AOD_pyle986's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    105

    Default Just upgraded...can't boot👎🏻

    Hi there,
    So I just upgraded my cpu and mobo and now I cannot boot up windows 7. Is there anyway I can get into Windows without having to do a full restore?
    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Criminal Lawyer is a redundancy AOD Member AOD_ReaverVI's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Lyss, Switzerland
    Age
    30
    Posts
    229

    Default

    What message are you getting when you boot?

    What was the old mobo/cpu and the new mobo/cpu?
    "I remember a better solution in an old issue of Popular Mechanics. A lead coffee cup - kept warm perpetually by a little chunk of plutonium."

  3. #3
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AOD Member AOD_pyle986's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    105

    Default

    I went from i7-960 and ASUS P6T LGA1366 to i5-6600k and ASTofk Z170-Pro4 LGA1151.

    I can boot into the bios, but can't get into Windows. I don't even get and error message, it just won't boot in and then goes into Windows repair.
    I know I can just reinstall Windows I guess, by have things I should have saved on my hard drive (yes I didn't prep before)

  4. #4
    Banned from Forums RTMPro's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    I've always done a fresh install when changing mobo, so no answers from me.

    Do you still have your old hardware? Put that back in & see if it runs to back up that stuff? Or a 2nd unused HDD (even an old 250gb)?

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AOD Member AOD_pyle986's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    105

    Default

    I think that was going to be my move. I did realize that even now, if I go to boot from Windows disc, my keyboard and mouse stop working (both usb)

  6. #6
    If I'm not back in 5....wait longer! AOD Member AOD_Jayson201's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    Battlefield
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Age
    21
    Posts
    95

    Default

    I don't see why a windows repair (with the disc) wouldn't work...otherwise try booting into safe mode and if you get in, install the new drivers.

    or, a little more elaborate and probably unwanted, revert to the old hardware, and upgrade to windows 10....recently received a full build from a friend, i just swapped my drives over and with windows 10, it did some background work and after a few minutes, i was in as if i never upgraded

  7. #7
    I get enough exercise just pushing my luck Marrv's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Age
    33
    Posts
    336

    Default

    I had to do a full reinstall in the exact same situation last month

    It is also possible to "install" windows 7 on to a USB stick and boot from that do you can rescue the files on your old drives. A bit fiddly to doany but the are some programs around that can do it for you. Am in India still so can't link them.

  8. #8
    Boycott shampoo! Demand the REAL poo! AOD Member AOD_pyle986's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Blizzard Universe
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    105

    Default

    All pretty weird...gonna try a couple things. Appreciate all the answers thusfar!!

  9. #9
    Criminal Lawyer is a redundancy AOD Member AOD_ReaverVI's Avatar
    Rank
    Private
    Division
    PlanetSide 2
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Lyss, Switzerland
    Age
    30
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Windows has always been fairly fickle about changing the mobo/cpu without reinstall. In a lot of cases I had seen windows require activation again if it did boot up fully.
    If you run into issues with "permissions" to grab your files and granted this isnt your only computer, you should always keep a linux bootable thumb drive/cd on hand or a copy of UBCD. Those have always been my life line, even at work.
    "I remember a better solution in an old issue of Popular Mechanics. A lead coffee cup - kept warm perpetually by a little chunk of plutonium."

  10. #10
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue MorteDeAngelis's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Age
    23
    Posts
    33

    Default

    I've had a similar issue.

    The problem is that the Windows is getting incorrect information about your CPU/Mobo and therefore isn't booting because its not found what it was looking for, not much you can do without a clean install. Afaik if you use your old Mobo to boot from it should work perfectly fine, just not on the new one.

    Try using other USB ports if they aren't working during install, thats most likely a mobo issues as I've never heard of USB power problems be software related.

    I can link you the ISO file for windows if you think booting from USB will help
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...6a46ebf?auth=1

    It was on a Digital River but I can find the page and that was the next best thing =P (Notice the links are from Digital River xD)

    Hope it helps o/

  11. #11
    Can I have your Tots Falklan's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    20

    Default

    If you get to a point where you can boot from a windows setup disc or USB drive here's what to do:

    Create a disc or USB drive with your motherboard drivers not the setup executable (chipset, network, etc). "You could possibly use the setup executables here. I'm not certain."
    Boot the computer into the Windows 7 setup.
    Get to the point where it prompts you to install drivers. This is only a few steps into the installation process.
    Use the disc or USB drive and install the motherboard drivers.
    I believe the chipset drivers are all that's required, but you can also install your network and any audio drivers.
    Once you've installed the drivers, back out or cancel Windows setup and restart your PC.

    That should fix the problem.
    Last edited by Falklan; 11-24-2015 at 12:54 AM. Reason: added information

  12. #12
    It is bad luck to be superstitious. AOD Member AOD_Darkn3ss F4lls's Avatar
    Rank
    Private First Class
    Division
    Elite: Dangerous
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Syracuse
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,733

    Default

    i've always used a copy of hirens boot disc for situations like this. You should be able to just stick the hard drive in an enclosure as well and get your files off it onto a laptop if you have one.

    Steam - Origin - UPlay - YOUTUBE -TWITCH
    *RANDOM SIGNATURE IMAGE TO COME*
    AOD4Life - Have Questions About AOD? Ask me! - Support the Clan!


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top