Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Knee High to a Worms Ass hugglesthemerciless's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Age
    24
    Posts
    3

    Default overclocking Nvidia GPU

    So I'm running 2 GTX 760s in SLI, one is the reference blower cooler the other is the SC ACX, both 4GB from EVGA. I use EVGA precision to overclock the cards but a problem I'm running into is that I can't set the cards at different clock speed increases and my reference model has no problem with a 125Mhz core and 500 Mhz memory clock increase while my acx model crashes repeatedly when clocked that high (I had my reference card before getting the 2nd card, that's how I know). I've never done anything with hardware/bios overclocking and am wondering how I would go about setting them to different clockspeeds.
    Hope my wall of text makes sense=]

  2. #2
    Can I have your Tots FluffyDice's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    18

    Default

    sort of, however with sli you'd be running at the slowest clock speed. i dont think it's possible to have one card doing more work that the other, as they're technically running in parallel.
    You could try swapping the power cables to see if its the psu perhaps causing the crashes?

  3. #3
    Criminal Lawyer is a redundancy ModJPB's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    New Jersey
    Age
    36
    Posts
    242

    Default overclocking Nvidia GPU

    They need to run at equal clockspeeds to stay syncronized. Your stability is only as strong as your weakest card. Nest way to do this is test each card for its max oc. Then when in SLI mode, set the oc to the lower mhz card each core and memory.

  4. #4
    Knee High to a Worms Ass hugglesthemerciless's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Age
    24
    Posts
    3

    Default

    According to nvidia forums cards with different clock speeds can be sli'd just fine

  5. #5
    Keep honking. I'm reloading Mokona512's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    419

    Default

    Try using msi afterburner, works better with multiple cards.
    http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm

    Also unlock the voltage adjustment and increase the voltage by the max 12mv (nvidia caps the voltage increase to 12mv)

    with a high asic quality, you can generally get a top clock speed of 1305MHz

  6. #6
    Criminal Lawyer is a redundancy ModJPB's Avatar
    Rank
    Forum Member
    Division
    None
    Status
    Active
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    New Jersey
    Age
    36
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AOD_hugglesthemerciless View Post
    According to nvidia forums cards with different clock speeds can be sli'd just fine
    Well yes and no. It all depends on the situation.

    Both cards can be set to different OC when...
    -the game doesnt support SLI and only uses your primary card
    -you use the secondary card to do the physx while the primary does the graphics

    When in dual graphics mode sli then the clocks will drop to match the lowest card.


    Your best setup is to make your primary card that clocks the highest. As mentioned before MSI afterburner is the best tweaking software.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin By: ForumThemes.com
Top